Bio

Dr. Ahmed Ali (1938 – 8 June 2005) was a Fijian academic and politician who held Cabinet office several times from the late 1970s onwards. Unlike the majority of his fellow Indo-Fijians, he was aligned with the Alliance Party of Prime Minister Ratu Sir Kamisese Mara in the 1970s and 1980s, and with the Soqosoqo Duavata ni Lewenivanua Party of Laisenia Qarase in the early 2000s. He was one of only two Indo-Fijians to agree to serve in the interim government established in the wake of two military coups carried out to assert indigenous political supremacy in 1987.

Early life

Ali was a descendant of Indian indentured labourers brought to Fiji between 1879 and 1916. He was born in Suva and was educated at Marist Brothers' Primary and Secondary Schools. He obtained his MA in History from the University of Auckland and PhD from Australian National University.[1]

Academic achievement

Prior to entering politics, Ali enjoyed a distinguished career as an academic. He was initially a high school teacher and later joined the University of the South Pacific as a lecturer in History and politics. He obtained a doctorate at the age of 37 years, then held senior positions at the University. He was Senior Lecturer and Reader in history and politics, and was the Head of the School of Social and Economic Development. He also was Dean of Academic Affairs, acting Deputy Vice-Chancellor as well as Director of the Institute of Social and Administrative Studies.

Ali published numerous papers and books on Fiji Indians and the indenture system that brought Indians to Fiji.

Person Live Feed
2018-06-22T03:43:02.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.99

End Date: Saturday Jul-21-2018 20:43:02 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-05-12T21:44:05.000Z
.95
End Date: Wednesday Jul-11-2018 14:44:05 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .95
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-07T04:54:05.000Z
.34
End Date: Friday Jul-6-2018 21:54:05 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .34
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2015-05-09T02:54:20.000Z
.95
End Date: Saturday Jul-21-2018 19:54:20 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .95
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-05-20T04:47:56.000Z
.71
End Date: Wednesday Jul-18-2018 21:47:56 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .71
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-07-19T22:15:40.000Z
.24
End Date: Saturday Jul-14-2018 15:15:40 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .24
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-05-26T11:43:15.000Z
.67
End Date: Monday Jun-25-2018 4:43:15 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .67
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-13T01:48:23.000Z
.49
End Date: Monday Jul-9-2018 18:48:23 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-03-16T07:32:20.000Z
.19
End Date: Saturday Jul-14-2018 0:32:20 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .19
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-23T15:12:03.000Z
.95
End Date: Monday Jul-23-2018 8:12:03 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .95
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-20T05:50:42.000Z
0.88
End Date: Thursday Jul-19-2018 22:50:42 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 0.88
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-05-16T10:01:41.000Z
.14
End Date: Tuesday Jul-10-2018 3:01:41 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .14
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-01-19T03:18:29.000Z
.37
End Date: Tuesday Jul-17-2018 20:18:29 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .37
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-05-27T00:06:22.000Z
.25
End Date: Monday Jun-25-2018 17:06:22 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .25
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-05-02T21:53:45.000Z
9.08
End Date: Tuesday Jun-26-2018 14:53:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 9.08
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2015-08-25T17:36:13.000Z
.13
End Date: Tuesday Jul-10-2018 10:36:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .13
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-17T03:09:05.000Z
.00
End Date: Monday Jul-16-2018 20:09:05 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-12T07:02:36.000Z
.00
End Date: Thursday Jul-12-2018 0:02:36 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-11-13T12:39:31.000Z
.10
End Date: Friday Jul-6-2018 5:39:31 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .10
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-09-27T10:51:37.000Z
.95
End Date: Thursday Jul-19-2018 3:51:37 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .95
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-12T00:39:32.000Z
.88
End Date: Wednesday Jul-11-2018 17:39:32 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .88
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-09T15:41:30.000Z
.88
End Date: Monday Jul-9-2018 8:41:30 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .88
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-13T06:54:41.000Z
.22
End Date: Wednesday Jul-11-2018 23:54:41 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .22
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-04T12:15:07.000Z
9.00
End Date: Tuesday Jul-3-2018 5:15:07 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 9.00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-05-16T01:28:10.000Z
.99
End Date: Saturday Jul-14-2018 18:28:10 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-02-12T03:27:33.000Z
.00
End Date: Wednesday Jul-11-2018 20:27:33 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-06T08:47:06.000Z
.99
End Date: Friday Jul-6-2018 1:47:06 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-05-24T17:47:46.000Z
.98
End Date: Wednesday Jul-18-2018 10:47:46 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .98
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-19T19:21:05.000Z
.91
End Date: Thursday Jul-19-2018 12:21:05 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .91
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-19T03:21:13.000Z
.94
End Date: Wednesday Jul-18-2018 20:21:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .94
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-23T17:50:34.000Z
.22 (0 Bids)
End Date: Tuesday Jul-3-2018 10:50:34 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .90
Buy It Now | Bid now | Add to watch list
2017-06-23T18:42:14.000Z
.00
End Date: Wednesday Jul-18-2018 11:42:14 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-02-24T03:54:41.000Z
.99
End Date: Wednesday Jul-18-2018 20:54:41 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T04:34:13.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.49

End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 21:34:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-01-11T00:10:50.000Z
.80
End Date: Monday Jul-9-2018 17:10:50 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .80
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-03-28T16:34:07.000Z
.06
End Date: Tuesday Jun-26-2018 9:34:07 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .06
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T04:34:13.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.99

End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 21:34:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-18T01:17:54.000Z
.00
End Date: Tuesday Jul-17-2018 18:17:54 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-10T21:20:30.000Z
.19
End Date: Monday Jul-9-2018 14:20:30 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .19
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-04T12:15:08.000Z
.12
End Date: Tuesday Jul-3-2018 5:15:08 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .12
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-03-22T18:05:55.000Z
.83
End Date: Sunday Jul-15-2018 11:05:55 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .83
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-04T15:22:42.000Z
.81
End Date: Tuesday Jul-3-2018 8:22:42 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .81
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-12-01T04:37:12.000Z
.00
End Date: Thursday Jun-28-2018 21:37:12 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-05-17T03:46:53.000Z
.92
End Date: Sunday Jul-15-2018 20:46:53 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .92
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-11T11:57:01.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.25

End Date: Wednesday Jul-11-2018 4:57:01 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.25
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2015-01-13T02:47:02.000Z
.50
End Date: Monday Jun-25-2018 19:47:02 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .50
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-02T17:37:35.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.49

End Date: Monday Jul-2-2018 10:37:35 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-06T08:48:11.000Z
.99
End Date: Friday Jul-6-2018 1:48:11 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-16T01:49:53.000Z
.99 (0 Bids)
End Date: Monday Jun-25-2018 18:49:53 PDT
Bid now | Add to watch list
2018-05-27T05:27:11.000Z
.98
End Date: Monday Jun-25-2018 22:27:11 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .98
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-05-19T13:09:09.000Z
.99
End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 6:09:09 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-03-27T17:43:27.000Z
.83
End Date: Friday Jul-20-2018 10:43:27 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .83
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-04-10T21:36:31.000Z
4.00
End Date: Friday Jun-29-2018 14:36:31 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 4.00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T04:53:36.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.49

End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 21:53:36 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-06-02T03:49:46.000Z
.70
End Date: Tuesday Jun-26-2018 20:49:46 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .70
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-12-21T12:36:44.000Z
.98
End Date: Thursday Jul-19-2018 5:36:44 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .98
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T04:34:13.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.49

End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 21:34:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T04:34:13.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.49

End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 21:34:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T04:34:13.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.49

End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 21:34:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T04:34:13.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.49

End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 21:34:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T04:34:13.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.49

End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 21:34:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T04:34:13.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.49

End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 21:34:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T04:34:13.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.49

End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 21:34:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T04:34:13.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.49

End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 21:34:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T04:34:13.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.49

End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 21:34:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T04:34:13.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.49

End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 21:34:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T04:34:13.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.49

End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 21:34:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T04:34:13.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.49

End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 21:34:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-12T20:44:11.000Z
.98
End Date: Thursday Jul-12-2018 13:44:11 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .98
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2015-10-28T21:53:05.000Z
7.43
End Date: Saturday Jul-14-2018 14:53:05 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 7.43
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T04:34:13.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.49

End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 21:34:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T04:34:13.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.49

End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 21:34:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T04:34:13.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.49

End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 21:34:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T04:34:13.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.49

End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 21:34:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T04:34:13.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.49

End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 21:34:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T04:34:13.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.49

End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 21:34:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T04:34:13.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.49

End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 21:34:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-05-25T22:39:09.000Z
.95
End Date: Sunday Jun-24-2018 15:39:09 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .95
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-04-13T19:49:22.000Z
.94
End Date: Monday Jul-2-2018 12:49:22 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .94
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T04:34:13.000Z
.49
End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 21:34:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-01-11T00:07:16.000Z
.80
End Date: Monday Jul-9-2018 17:07:16 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .80
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T04:34:13.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.49

End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 21:34:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T04:34:13.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.49

End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 21:34:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T04:34:13.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.49

End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 21:34:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T04:34:13.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.49

End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 21:34:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T04:34:13.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.49

End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 21:34:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T04:34:13.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.49

End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 21:34:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T04:34:13.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.49

End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 21:34:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T04:34:13.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.49

End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 21:34:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T04:34:13.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.49

End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 21:34:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T04:34:13.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.49

End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 21:34:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T04:34:13.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.49

End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 21:34:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T04:34:13.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.49

End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 21:34:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T04:34:13.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.49

End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 21:34:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T04:34:13.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.49

End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 21:34:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-16T02:22:30.000Z
.99
End Date: Monday Jun-25-2018 19:22:30 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T04:53:36.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.49

End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 21:53:36 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-03T23:07:48.000Z
.99
End Date: Tuesday Jul-3-2018 16:07:48 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T04:34:13.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.49

End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 21:34:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T04:34:13.000Z
.49
End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 21:34:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
Comments
Order by: 
Per page:
 
  • There are no comments yet
Photos
Rate
0 votes
Info
Archana
Noida, India
13.02.2016 (13.02.2016)
463
Fans
Opps. Its empty!!
Statistics
Date of BirthNov 30, 1937
EthnicityIndian
Is this Person Alive?No
More People from this City
Shradha Sharma is a distinguished celeb and a renowned personality in the field of dance and is also a good actress, who has announced her arrival with a show of exceptional skills and dazzling performances at various occasions. One of the most admired traits of Shradha is her positive attitude towa…
Categories: Celebrities Entrepeneurs Artists 
Gender: Woman
15.02.2018 · From admin
Cameraman and Editor at TV Asia Worked at Ahmedabad, India Studied at Gujarat University Went to Gujarat University Lives in Edison, New Jersey Married From Ahmedabad, India M…
Categories: Journalists 
Gender: Man
29.12.2017 · From admin
Categories: Religious 
Gender: Man
21.09.2017 · From Anil
Kumar Vishwas is a Hindi-language performance poet and an Indian politician and National Executive of Aam Aadmi Party. Vishwas has participated in poetry recitations and functions abroad including the USA, Dubai, Singapore, and Japan.
Gender: Man
09.07.2017 · From silverleafmc
Varsha Joshi is a versatile and natural stage artist with the sangeet bhushan from Bhargava sangeet vidyalaya Vile parle- Mumbai and based here in the US from 2003 with her husband and two daughters Nishtha and Tweesha , who are also budding talents in the music field of singing. Varsha Joshi alias…
Categories: Musicians Entrepeneurs Artists 
Gender: Woman
17.04.2017 · From joshmusical
Genelia D'Souza (born 5 August 1987) is an Indian film actress and model. She has appeared in South Indian cinema and Bollywood films. After gaining wide attention in a Parker Pen commercial with Amitabh Bachchan, Genelia began her acting career with the box-office hit Tujhe Meri Kasam in 2003. She …
Categories: Celebrities Artists 
Gender: Woman
31.03.2017 · From indiafairnj
Ashok Chakradhar is a Hindi poet, writer and a media personality. He has been a professor and head of the department of Hindi at Jamia Millia Islamia (Central University). After serving for 29 years, he took voluntary retirement to focus on working towards the propagation and development of the Hind…
Categories: Celebrities 
Gender: Man
26.03.2017 · From dushahra
Balkrishna made his debut on the annual Forbes list of India’s 100 richest people at the 48th position Yoga guru Ramdev and aide Balkrishna came a long way since 1995, when they started Patanjali with only Rs 3500 in pocket They have stormed into India’s richest 100 club with a $2.5 billion net wo…
Gender: Man
23.09.2016 · From admin
Arif Afzal Usmani is CEO of AsiaTribune TV and chief editor of AsiaTribune Weekly newspaper.  
Gender: Man
31.07.2016 · From Asia
Get personalized advice directly from a Licensed Naturopathic Doctor If you need advanced information about your specific health situation, we can arrange for a consultation with Dr Kumar. Dr Kumar has extensive experience in helping patients achieve better health. If you have a quick ques…
Categories: Doctors 
Gender: Man
03.07.2016 · From drkumar
Ahmed Ali