Bio

Biddu, or Biddu Appaiah (born 1944), is an Indian-born, England-based music producer, composer, songwriter and singer who produced and composed many hit records worldwide during a career spanning five decades. Considered one of the pioneers of disco, Euro disco, and Indian pop, he has sold millions of records worldwide, and has received Grammy and Ivor Novello awards for his work. He has been ranked at number 34 on NME's "The 50 Greatest Producers Ever" list.

Biddu was born in Bangalore, Karnataka, India. He began his music career in the 1960s, singing as part of a music band in India before moving to England where he would start his career as a producer. He eventually found some success producing a hit song for Japanese band The Tigers in 1969, scoring the soundtrack for 1972 British film Embassy, and producing several early disco songs that would find a niche audience in British northern soul clubs during the early 1970s.

His international breakthrough came in 1974 with "Kung Fu Fighting" performed by Carl Douglas; the song became one of the best-selling singles of all time with eleven million records sold, helped popularise disco music, was the first worldwide disco hit from Britain and Europe, and established Biddu as one of the most prolific dance music producers from outside the United States at the time. He soon began producing his own instrumental albums under the name Biddu Orchestra, which started an orchestral disco trend in Britain and Europe with 1975 hits "Summer of '42" and Blue Eyed Soul; his solo albums eventually sold 40 million copies worldwide.[3] He also launched the careers of other British disco stars such as Tina Charles, helping her sell 36 million records within a few years, and Jimmy James; scored soundtracks for several British films such as The Stud (1978); and produced a hit song for late French singer Claude François.  Biddu also experimented with electronic disco[ and Hi-NRG music from the mid-1970s, and influenced British new wave bands such as The Buggles, founded by two of his former session musicians Trevor Horn and Geoff Downes.

 

Following the decline of disco in the Western world, he later found success in Asia during the 1980s, where he launched the careers of the late Pakistani pop singer Nazia Hassan and her brother Zohaib; he produced their debut album Disco Deewane, which charted in fourteen countries and became the best-selling Asian pop album up until that time, and helped the duo eventually sell 60 million records worldwide. During that decade, he also produced several hit Bollywood soundtracks for films such as Qurbani (1980) as well as several hit songs for Japanese pop idol Akina Nakamori and Chinese pop singer Samantha Lam In the 1990s, he popularised Indian pop with the hit album Made in India (1995), which became the best-selling pop album in India and launched the career of Alisha Chinai, after which he would launch the careers of several more Indian pop acts such as Shaan and his sister Sagarika as well as Sonu Nigam. In the 2000s, Biddu has been active in the Western and Indian music scenes producing albums which are more spiritual and Eastern-oriented. He rearranged a classical hit for Luke Kenny's film, Rise of the Zombie.

Youtube Videos
Biddú Appaiah
You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

Person Live Feed
2018-06-17T14:17:48.000Z
.00 (0 Bids)
End Date: Sunday Jun-24-2018 7:17:48 PDT
Bid now | Add to watch list
2018-06-17T14:16:48.000Z
.00 (0 Bids)
End Date: Sunday Jun-24-2018 7:16:48 PDT
Bid now | Add to watch list
2018-05-17T18:35:54.000Z
.10
End Date: Monday Jul-16-2018 11:35:54 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .10
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-12T22:11:06.000Z
.99 (1 Bid)
End Date: Tuesday Jun-19-2018 15:11:06 PDT
Bid now | Add to watch list
2016-10-27T07:41:51.000Z
.10
End Date: Tuesday Jun-19-2018 0:41:51 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .10
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2014-10-13T17:36:33.000Z
.99
End Date: Sunday Jun-24-2018 10:36:33 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-05-13T16:00:47.000Z
.95
End Date: Thursday Jul-12-2018 9:00:47 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .95
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-29T23:52:51.000Z
.00
End Date: Tuesday Jun-26-2018 16:52:51 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-04-24T15:35:40.000Z
.00
End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 8:35:40 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-06-06T18:35:06.000Z
.00
End Date: Sunday Jul-1-2018 11:35:06 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-08-07T22:52:51.000Z
.00
End Date: Tuesday Jul-3-2018 15:52:51 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-07-05T21:07:11.000Z
.95
End Date: Monday Jun-25-2018 14:07:11 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .95
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-07-17T23:54:25.000Z
.00
End Date: Thursday Jul-12-2018 16:54:25 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-14T17:10:53.000Z
.85
End Date: Saturday Jul-14-2018 10:10:53 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .85
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-11-03T17:46:25.000Z
.99
End Date: Tuesday Jun-26-2018 10:46:25 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-08T02:57:20.000Z
.00
End Date: Wednesday Jul-4-2018 19:57:20 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2014-07-19T06:54:58.000Z
.00
End Date: Wednesday Jun-27-2018 23:54:58 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-06-24T04:03:34.000Z
.86
End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 21:03:34 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .86
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-02-10T04:05:34.000Z
.00
End Date: Thursday Jun-28-2018 21:05:34 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-04-18T15:54:26.000Z
.47
End Date: Thursday Jul-12-2018 8:54:26 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .47
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-07-20T21:06:33.000Z
.80
End Date: Sunday Jul-15-2018 14:06:33 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .80
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2011-12-12T06:59:43.000Z
.99
End Date: Saturday Jul-7-2018 23:59:43 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-08-07T21:59:02.000Z
.00
End Date: Tuesday Jul-3-2018 14:59:02 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-25T13:44:13.000Z
.92
End Date: Friday Jun-22-2018 6:44:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .92
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-12T22:46:03.000Z
.00
End Date: Thursday Jul-12-2018 15:46:03 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-02-23T18:17:21.000Z
.95
End Date: Saturday Jun-23-2018 11:17:21 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .95
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-18T03:49:36.000Z
.99
End Date: Tuesday Jul-17-2018 20:49:36 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-05T01:26:55.000Z
.95
End Date: Wednesday Jul-4-2018 18:26:55 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .95
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-16T15:30:08.000Z
.20
End Date: Sunday Jul-15-2018 8:30:08 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .20
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-18T02:35:39.000Z
.00
End Date: Monday Jul-16-2018 19:35:39 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-12-27T22:07:10.000Z
.00
End Date: Wednesday Jun-20-2018 15:07:10 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-06-08T14:34:57.000Z
.95
End Date: Tuesday Jul-3-2018 7:34:57 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .95
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-05-12T19:05:52.000Z
.00
End Date: Friday Jul-6-2018 12:05:52 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-02-16T16:14:57.000Z
.99
End Date: Wednesday Jul-11-2018 9:14:57 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-23T13:55:58.000Z
.92
End Date: Wednesday Jun-20-2018 6:55:58 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .92
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-12-11T16:05:56.000Z
.49
End Date: Monday Jul-9-2018 9:05:56 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2013-01-09T20:14:44.000Z
.92
End Date: Thursday Jul-12-2018 13:14:44 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .92
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-05T09:40:06.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.77

End Date: Thursday Jul-5-2018 2:40:06 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.77
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2014-12-01T19:07:48.000Z
.99
End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 12:07:48 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-04-27T21:04:43.000Z
.99
End Date: Thursday Jun-21-2018 14:04:43 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-05-10T23:08:30.000Z
.00
End Date: Monday Jul-9-2018 16:08:30 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2015-01-11T18:54:51.000Z
.50
End Date: Sunday Jun-24-2018 11:54:51 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .50
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-05-24T17:54:56.000Z
.99
End Date: Saturday Jun-23-2018 10:54:56 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-07-30T23:17:00.000Z
.68
End Date: Wednesday Jun-20-2018 16:17:00 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .68
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-11-01T18:43:28.000Z
.99
End Date: Sunday Jun-24-2018 11:43:28 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-02-10T10:07:08.000Z
.00
End Date: Tuesday Jul-10-2018 3:07:08 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-04-27T20:59:08.000Z
.99
End Date: Thursday Jun-21-2018 13:59:08 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-13T01:10:23.000Z
.00
End Date: Thursday Jul-12-2018 18:10:23 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2015-01-08T21:20:50.000Z
.00
End Date: Thursday Jun-21-2018 14:20:50 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-05-26T20:02:46.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.49

End Date: Monday Jun-25-2018 13:02:46 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2015-08-16T16:47:41.000Z
.00
End Date: Sunday Jul-1-2018 9:47:41 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-05-11T21:19:53.000Z
.39
End Date: Thursday Jul-5-2018 14:19:53 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .39
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-10-09T16:53:49.000Z
.97
End Date: Sunday Jul-1-2018 9:53:49 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .97
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-05-24T15:22:07.000Z
4.98
End Date: Saturday Jun-23-2018 8:22:07 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 4.98
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-14T20:20:24.000Z
.99 (0 Bids)
End Date: Thursday Jun-21-2018 13:20:24 PDT
Bid now | Add to watch list
2017-10-04T03:47:15.000Z
.16
End Date: Saturday Jun-30-2018 20:47:15 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .16
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-11-10T16:51:55.000Z
.99
End Date: Tuesday Jul-3-2018 9:51:55 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-07T14:19:44.000Z
.95
End Date: Saturday Jul-7-2018 7:19:44 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .95
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-05T23:10:18.000Z
.00
End Date: Wednesday Jul-4-2018 16:10:18 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2014-06-13T20:28:03.000Z
.39
End Date: Friday Jun-22-2018 13:28:03 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .39
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-03-10T23:26:13.000Z
.00
End Date: Sunday Jul-8-2018 16:26:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-11-09T01:12:28.000Z
.00
End Date: Friday Jul-6-2018 18:12:28 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-04T12:23:48.000Z
.10
End Date: Tuesday Jul-3-2018 5:23:48 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .10
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-06T11:35:36.000Z
.99
End Date: Friday Jul-6-2018 4:35:36 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2013-03-05T23:25:34.000Z
.99
End Date: Saturday Jul-7-2018 16:25:34 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-07-17T22:46:53.000Z
.00
End Date: Thursday Jul-12-2018 15:46:53 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-02-01T13:24:28.000Z
.39
End Date: Tuesday Jun-26-2018 6:24:28 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .39
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-11-28T20:18:34.000Z
.00
End Date: Tuesday Jun-26-2018 13:18:34 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-10-04T04:02:21.000Z
.10
End Date: Saturday Jun-30-2018 21:02:21 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .10
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-09T13:46:09.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.00
(0 Bids)
End Date: Tuesday Jun-19-2018 6:46:09 PDT
Bid now | Add to watch list
2017-02-01T13:22:48.000Z
.39
End Date: Tuesday Jun-26-2018 6:22:48 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .39
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-02-01T13:25:51.000Z
.39
End Date: Tuesday Jun-26-2018 6:25:51 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .39
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-07-26T23:27:03.000Z
.48
End Date: Thursday Jun-21-2018 16:27:03 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .48
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-01-06T17:20:56.000Z
.99
End Date: Thursday Jul-5-2018 10:20:56 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-17T15:58:57.000Z
.66 (0 Bids)
End Date: Sunday Jun-24-2018 8:58:57 PDT
Bid now | Add to watch list
2018-02-01T00:17:17.000Z
.00
End Date: Saturday Jun-30-2018 17:17:17 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-07T17:45:27.000Z
.50
End Date: Saturday Jul-7-2018 10:45:27 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .50
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-14T10:00:19.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.13
(0 Bids)
End Date: Sunday Jun-24-2018 3:00:19 PDT
Bid now | Add to watch list
2017-10-03T06:29:48.000Z
.00
End Date: Friday Jun-29-2018 23:29:48 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-18T16:46:47.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.32
(0 Bids)
End Date: Saturday Jun-23-2018 9:46:47 PDT
Bid now | Add to watch list
2017-09-20T23:51:38.000Z
.00
End Date: Tuesday Jul-17-2018 16:51:38 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-02-28T17:34:29.000Z
.00
End Date: Thursday Jun-28-2018 10:34:29 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-17T23:41:36.000Z
.54
End Date: Sunday Jun-24-2018 16:41:36 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .54
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-02T19:24:47.000Z
.22
End Date: Monday Jul-2-2018 12:24:47 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .22
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-12T18:16:39.000Z
.66 (0 Bids)
End Date: Tuesday Jun-19-2018 11:16:39 PDT
Bid now | Add to watch list
2016-08-30T01:51:27.000Z
.50
End Date: Wednesday Jun-20-2018 18:51:27 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .50
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-04-27T20:50:20.000Z
.99
End Date: Thursday Jun-21-2018 13:50:20 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-03T13:09:49.000Z
.00
End Date: Tuesday Jul-3-2018 6:09:49 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-04-08T18:38:57.000Z
.40
End Date: Monday Jul-2-2018 11:38:57 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .40
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-03T11:31:42.000Z
.47
End Date: Saturday Jun-30-2018 4:31:42 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .47
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-11-08T18:10:53.000Z
.99
End Date: Sunday Jul-1-2018 11:10:53 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-12T19:46:24.000Z
.21
End Date: Thursday Jul-12-2018 12:46:24 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .21
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-10-02T23:31:54.000Z
.95
End Date: Sunday Jun-24-2018 16:31:54 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .95
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-11T15:49:01.000Z
.99
End Date: Wednesday Jul-11-2018 8:49:01 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-03-12T09:00:37.000Z
.65
End Date: Tuesday Jul-10-2018 2:00:37 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .65
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-10-09T16:56:02.000Z
.97
End Date: Sunday Jul-1-2018 9:56:02 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .97
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-17T11:36:17.000Z
.27
End Date: Tuesday Jul-17-2018 4:36:17 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .27
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-06T21:36:24.000Z
.72
End Date: Tuesday Jul-3-2018 14:36:24 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .72
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2015-12-24T14:20:21.000Z
.80
End Date: Wednesday Jul-11-2018 7:20:21 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .80
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2012-08-13T19:43:49.000Z
.60
End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 12:43:49 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .60
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
Comments
Order by: 
Per page:
 
  • There are no comments yet
Photos
Rate
0 votes
Info
archi_pandey9190
noida, India
12.02.2016 (12.02.2016)
308
Fans
Opps. Its empty!!
Statistics
Date of BirthNov 30, 1943
EthnicityAsian
Is this Person Alive?Yes
More People from this City
Shradha Sharma is a distinguished celeb and a renowned personality in the field of dance and is also a good actress, who has announced her arrival with a show of exceptional skills and dazzling performances at various occasions. One of the most admired traits of Shradha is her positive attitude towa…
Categories: Celebrities Entrepeneurs Artists 
Gender: Woman
15.02.2018 · From admin
Cameraman and Editor at TV Asia Worked at Ahmedabad, India Studied at Gujarat University Went to Gujarat University Lives in Edison, New Jersey Married From Ahmedabad, India M…
Categories: Journalists 
Gender: Man
29.12.2017 · From admin
Categories: Religious 
Gender: Man
21.09.2017 · From Anil
Kumar Vishwas is a Hindi-language performance poet and an Indian politician and National Executive of Aam Aadmi Party. Vishwas has participated in poetry recitations and functions abroad including the USA, Dubai, Singapore, and Japan.
Gender: Man
09.07.2017 · From silverleafmc
Varsha Joshi is a versatile and natural stage artist with the sangeet bhushan from Bhargava sangeet vidyalaya Vile parle- Mumbai and based here in the US from 2003 with her husband and two daughters Nishtha and Tweesha , who are also budding talents in the music field of singing. Varsha Joshi alias…
Categories: Musicians Entrepeneurs Artists 
Gender: Woman
17.04.2017 · From joshmusical
Genelia D'Souza (born 5 August 1987) is an Indian film actress and model. She has appeared in South Indian cinema and Bollywood films. After gaining wide attention in a Parker Pen commercial with Amitabh Bachchan, Genelia began her acting career with the box-office hit Tujhe Meri Kasam in 2003. She …
Categories: Celebrities Artists 
Gender: Woman
31.03.2017 · From indiafairnj
Ashok Chakradhar is a Hindi poet, writer and a media personality. He has been a professor and head of the department of Hindi at Jamia Millia Islamia (Central University). After serving for 29 years, he took voluntary retirement to focus on working towards the propagation and development of the Hind…
Categories: Celebrities 
Gender: Man
26.03.2017 · From dushahra
Balkrishna made his debut on the annual Forbes list of India’s 100 richest people at the 48th position Yoga guru Ramdev and aide Balkrishna came a long way since 1995, when they started Patanjali with only Rs 3500 in pocket They have stormed into India’s richest 100 club with a $2.5 billion net wo…
Gender: Man
23.09.2016 · From admin
Arif Afzal Usmani is CEO of AsiaTribune TV and chief editor of AsiaTribune Weekly newspaper.  
Gender: Man
31.07.2016 · From Asia
Get personalized advice directly from a Licensed Naturopathic Doctor If you need advanced information about your specific health situation, we can arrange for a consultation with Dr Kumar. Dr Kumar has extensive experience in helping patients achieve better health. If you have a quick ques…
Categories: Doctors 
Gender: Man
03.07.2016 · From drkumar