Awards

He shared a 1983 National Newspaper Award for spot news reporting. In 1992 and column writing in 1998. Siddiqui received a Professional Man of the Year award from Indo Canadian Chamber of Commerce, and a media award from theCanadian Islamic Congress.

In 2000, and 2001 he became a member of the Order of Ontario, for crafting “a broader definition of the Canadian identity,” inclusive of our First Nations, French Canadians and newer Canadians.

In 2001, Siddiqui was awarded an honorary Doctor of Letters from York University.[3] In 2002, he was awarded the World Press Freedom Award by the National Press Club in Ottawa for his James Minifie Memorial Lecture at the University of Regina, warning against “creeping censorship” in Canada under media concentration.

Bio

Born in Hyderabad, India, the oldest of six children, to a construction company proprietor, Siddiqui enjoyed what he characterizes as a secure and affectionate, "middle- to upper-class" childhood. At Osmania University in Hyderabad he earned degrees in science and journalism. In 1963, he joined the Press Trust of India as a reporter and copy editor. When his father fell ill, Siddiqui briefly left journalism to manage his father's company, which he did until 1967. While at the Press Trust he met Roland Michener, then Canada's High Commissioner to India who encouraged him to emigrate to Canada. By 1968 he had taken a job at the Brandon Sun in Brandon, Manitoba, reporting on municipal and provincial politics from 1968 to 1978. In 1978, he joined the Toronto Star, becoming foreign affairs analyst in 1979, news editor in 1982 and national editor in 1985. From 1985 to 1990, Siddiqui was National Editor, responsible for coverage of federal and provincial affairs. From 1990 to 1998, Siddiqui was the Star's editorial page editor, and on his departure from that position, he was given the title of 'editor emeritus' and a twice-weekly column, which focused on national and international politics as well as cultural and Muslim issues. Siddiqui has written from a left-of-centre perspective on such issues as: the war in Iraq and terrorism. During his tenure The Star advocated a distinct constitutional status for Quebec and protection of French minorities outside Quebec. He is the past president of PEN Canada and chair of International PEN’s Writers-in-Exile Network. He is on the board of directors of the Calmeadow Foundation (a microcredit lender), the Canadian Club of Toronto, and the advisory board of the Ryerson University School of Journalism. Siddiqui has authored Being Muslim; edited An English Anthology of Modern Urdu Poetry (1988); assisted in Christopher Ondaatje’s Sindh Revisited (1996), following the footsteps of Victorian explorer Sir Richard Burton; and contributed to Canada and Sept. 11, published by the University of Calgary (2002) and Drawing Fire: The State of Political Cartooning (1998), a colloquium of North America’s top cartoonists and editors, at the American Press Institute.[citation needed] Siddiqui continued as a columnist at the Star until 2015. His farewell column of April 1, 2015 marked his retirement from journalism.

Writing in Toronto Life in June 2001, Robert Fulford maintained that "Siddiqui makes the most strenuous effort to bathe Third World countries in a soft light. No matter how outrageous its actions, a non-Western government can usually count on him for a little understanding."

In a June 2013 column, Siddiqui demanded that Canada's Minister of Citizenship and Immigration Jason Kenney "should resign or be fired." In an article the following month, Siddiqui accused Kenney, of “turn[ing] immigration into a tool of anti-Arab and anti-Muslim bigotry,” and of “barring refugee claimants from ‘safe third countries.’” Chris Selley, writing in theNational Post, pointed out that immigration levels of individuals speaking Arabic as a first language have actually increased during Kenney's tenure. Regarding Siddiqui's second claim, Shelley argued that refugees from "safe third countries" are not automatically refused refugee status by Canada but rather are "directed them into an expedited system with a somewhat weaker appeals process." Selley also argued that Siddiqui's accusation against Kenney in this regard was "a massive factual error that you’d think an expert on this matter wouldn’t make."

 

Youtube Videos
Journalist Haroon Siddique discusses how the West links extremist attacks with Islam
You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

Person Live Feed
2017-03-09T06:39:24.000Z
.99
End Date: Sunday Jul-1-2018 23:39:24 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-04-12T11:07:20.000Z
.85
End Date: Sunday Jul-1-2018 4:07:20 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .85
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-12-18T22:42:24.000Z
.78
End Date: Monday Jul-16-2018 15:42:24 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .78
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-05-29T22:18:34.000Z
.96
End Date: Thursday Jun-28-2018 15:18:34 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .96
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-20T22:05:06.000Z
.99
End Date: Thursday Jul-19-2018 15:05:06 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-07-05T01:42:52.000Z
.95
End Date: Friday Jun-29-2018 18:42:52 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .95
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-02-02T23:55:35.000Z
.81
End Date: Wednesday Jun-27-2018 16:55:35 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .81
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-07-15T08:41:04.000Z
.44
End Date: Tuesday Jul-10-2018 1:41:04 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .44
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-08-30T09:46:57.000Z
.98
End Date: Tuesday Jun-26-2018 2:46:57 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .98
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2015-11-09T19:17:11.000Z
4.25
End Date: Tuesday Jun-26-2018 12:17:11 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 4.25
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-05-22T00:56:12.000Z
.43
End Date: Friday Jul-20-2018 17:56:12 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .43
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-05-25T19:09:11.000Z
.89
End Date: Thursday Jul-19-2018 12:09:11 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .89
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-03-30T10:18:31.000Z
.95
End Date: Thursday Jun-28-2018 3:18:31 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .95
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-08-20T02:04:05.000Z
.99
End Date: Tuesday Jul-10-2018 19:04:05 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-06-25T03:26:58.000Z
.99
End Date: Thursday Jul-19-2018 20:26:58 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-07-15T07:49:50.000Z
.77
End Date: Tuesday Jul-10-2018 0:49:50 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .77
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-02T13:37:17.000Z
.95
End Date: Monday Jul-2-2018 6:37:17 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .95
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-06-02T02:08:25.000Z
.98
End Date: Tuesday Jun-26-2018 19:08:25 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .98
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-16T04:08:19.000Z
.50
End Date: Thursday Jul-12-2018 21:08:19 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .50
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-05-25T04:37:58.000Z
.49
End Date: Saturday Jun-23-2018 21:37:58 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-02-27T11:40:35.000Z
.95
End Date: Wednesday Jun-27-2018 4:40:35 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .95
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
Comments
Order by: 
Per page:
 
  • There are no comments yet
Photos
Rate
0 votes
Info
06.02.2016 (06.02.2016)
405
Fans
Opps. Its empty!!
Statistics
Date of BirthJun 01, 1942
EthnicityIndian
Is this Person Alive?Yes
More People from this City
Shradha Sharma is a distinguished celeb and a renowned personality in the field of dance and is also a good actress, who has announced her arrival with a show of exceptional skills and dazzling performances at various occasions. One of the most admired traits of Shradha is her positive attitude towa…
Categories: Celebrities Entrepeneurs Artists 
Gender: Woman
15.02.2018 · From admin
Cameraman and Editor at TV Asia Worked at Ahmedabad, India Studied at Gujarat University Went to Gujarat University Lives in Edison, New Jersey Married From Ahmedabad, India M…
Categories: Journalists 
Gender: Man
29.12.2017 · From admin
Categories: Religious 
Gender: Man
21.09.2017 · From Anil
Kumar Vishwas is a Hindi-language performance poet and an Indian politician and National Executive of Aam Aadmi Party. Vishwas has participated in poetry recitations and functions abroad including the USA, Dubai, Singapore, and Japan.
Gender: Man
09.07.2017 · From silverleafmc
Varsha Joshi is a versatile and natural stage artist with the sangeet bhushan from Bhargava sangeet vidyalaya Vile parle- Mumbai and based here in the US from 2003 with her husband and two daughters Nishtha and Tweesha , who are also budding talents in the music field of singing. Varsha Joshi alias…
Categories: Musicians Entrepeneurs Artists 
Gender: Woman
17.04.2017 · From joshmusical
Genelia D'Souza (born 5 August 1987) is an Indian film actress and model. She has appeared in South Indian cinema and Bollywood films. After gaining wide attention in a Parker Pen commercial with Amitabh Bachchan, Genelia began her acting career with the box-office hit Tujhe Meri Kasam in 2003. She …
Categories: Celebrities Artists 
Gender: Woman
31.03.2017 · From indiafairnj
Ashok Chakradhar is a Hindi poet, writer and a media personality. He has been a professor and head of the department of Hindi at Jamia Millia Islamia (Central University). After serving for 29 years, he took voluntary retirement to focus on working towards the propagation and development of the Hind…
Categories: Celebrities 
Gender: Man
26.03.2017 · From dushahra
Balkrishna made his debut on the annual Forbes list of India’s 100 richest people at the 48th position Yoga guru Ramdev and aide Balkrishna came a long way since 1995, when they started Patanjali with only Rs 3500 in pocket They have stormed into India’s richest 100 club with a $2.5 billion net wo…
Gender: Man
23.09.2016 · From admin
Arif Afzal Usmani is CEO of AsiaTribune TV and chief editor of AsiaTribune Weekly newspaper.  
Gender: Man
31.07.2016 · From Asia
Get personalized advice directly from a Licensed Naturopathic Doctor If you need advanced information about your specific health situation, we can arrange for a consultation with Dr Kumar. Dr Kumar has extensive experience in helping patients achieve better health. If you have a quick ques…
Categories: Doctors 
Gender: Man
03.07.2016 · From drkumar
Haroon Siddiqui