Bio

A Canadian newspaper once described Dr Krishna Kumar as a neurosurgeon who has dedicated his career to easing chronic pain. Acclaimed as among the top half a dozen in his field of speciality, the Regina-based Kumar has over the course of a medical practice 48 years old and counting, pioneered a deep brain stimulation technique in which an electrode he implants in the brain, using his own innovative technique, delivers low voltage stimulation to reduce chronic pain. Pain is universal, Kumar explains, but “the sad part is we don’t recognize it. There’s suffering everywhere. Many people don’t attend to it, and so brain gets affected. No matter what pain it is, it changes the functioning of the brain – and over time, it gets worse. You ignore back pain for five years, there is a 50 percent chance of a cure. If you leave it unattended for 10 years or more, there is only a 10 percent chance of successful cure.

” Pain is not genetic, and it has no bearing on ethnicity, Kumar points out. In fact, people from Asian nations have less brain-related problems because of the family support system they can count on, says Kumar, Clinical Professor of Neurosurgery at the University of Saskatchewan’s College of Medicine. “That helps Indians and other Asian people to be able to cope with this (pain).” Kumar’s achievements include developing a programmable and implantable pump for patients with back pain, as part of a treatment that enables them to cope without consuming pain killers. His work in the field was the subject of a documentary, Living with Pain. An estimated six per cent of all Canadians live with chronic pain, and contributing factors are numerous. Kumar says his researches show that “chronic pain is real and it alters a person”; his work, he says, consists of “tickling the brain and observing the results.

” The enormous amount of research Kumar has done in brainrelated fields is reflected in the 200-plus papers he has written, that have helped create global awareness of the need to treat chronic pain at the earliest possible. Thanks to his work, he ranks alongside other Canadian neurosurgeons like Dr Lin Jacques from the Montreal Neurological Institute; Dr Chris Honey of Vancouver General Hospital; Dr Ivar Mendezs from Halifax, Nova Scotia and Drs Mark Bernstein and Andres Lazano from Toronto Western Hospital. His interest in neurological diseases prompted Kumar to take the lead in establishing the Canadian Neuromodulation Society, which now boasts about 70 members who are all expert in the planting of electrodes in the brain to facilitate treatment.

The society had its first major conference in June this year in Halifax, Nova Scotia. The society’s mission statement is that of dedication to the propagation of neuromodulation therapy ‘through education, training, dissemination and support of research and encouragement of best practices, as well as professional development and leadership in health policy on chronic pain management and other neurological disorders.’ For his work both as clinical professor and as a leading researcher in neurosurgery, and for the development of innovative brain and spinal implants used for the treatment of chronic pain, Kumar was honored earlier this year with the Order of Canada, the nation’s highest civilian award. Last year, he was named Saskatchewan Physician of the Year and earlier, in October 2000, Kumar received the prestigious Saskatchewan Order of Merit, thus entering a very elite club of super achievers who have won both honors.

Person Live Feed
2010-04-17T00:43:26.000Z
.95
End Date: Friday May-4-2018 17:43:26 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .95
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-03-15T07:05:50.000Z
.20
End Date: Friday May-4-2018 0:05:50 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .20
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-05-18T23:59:51.000Z
.99
End Date: Sunday May-13-2018 16:59:51 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-06-09T23:13:25.000Z
.99
End Date: Saturday May-5-2018 16:13:25 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-01-05T21:36:57.000Z
.99
End Date: Saturday May-5-2018 14:36:57 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-10-14T17:43:58.000Z
.99
End Date: Saturday May-12-2018 10:43:58 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-05-25T19:13:55.000Z
.40
End Date: Friday Apr-20-2018 12:13:55 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .40
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-10-20T01:22:23.000Z
.99
End Date: Thursday May-17-2018 18:22:23 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-10-31T00:03:03.000Z
.99
End Date: Saturday Apr-28-2018 17:03:03 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-06-02T21:02:12.000Z
.99
End Date: Saturday Apr-28-2018 14:02:12 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-08-07T21:57:31.000Z
.99
End Date: Friday May-4-2018 14:57:31 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-06-19T23:07:01.000Z
.99
End Date: Tuesday May-15-2018 16:07:01 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-08-07T23:04:06.000Z
.99
End Date: Friday May-4-2018 16:04:06 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-11T00:10:54.000Z
.87
End Date: Thursday May-10-2018 17:10:54 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .87
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-06-27T00:44:31.000Z
.99
End Date: Sunday Apr-22-2018 17:44:31 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2013-11-07T02:18:37.000Z
__date__
__desc__
,250.00

End Date: Monday May-14-2018 19:18:37 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
,250.00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-03-28T07:59:59.000Z
.99
End Date: Friday Apr-27-2018 0:59:59 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-03-29T00:06:22.000Z
.95
End Date: Friday Apr-27-2018 17:06:22 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .95
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-03-17T16:56:57.000Z
.09
End Date: Wednesday May-16-2018 9:56:57 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .09
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-04-14T14:24:24.000Z
.99
End Date: Friday May-4-2018 7:24:24 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-03-15T14:54:43.000Z
.82
End Date: Monday May-14-2018 7:54:43 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .82
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2014-10-31T17:58:10.000Z
.99
End Date: Sunday May-13-2018 10:58:10 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2014-09-24T22:15:28.000Z
.00
End Date: Sunday May-6-2018 15:15:28 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-09-08T22:41:44.000Z
.11
End Date: Tuesday May-1-2018 15:41:44 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .11
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-08-19T15:41:50.000Z
.12
End Date: Friday May-11-2018 8:41:50 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .12
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-01-19T03:09:14.000Z
9.65
End Date: Friday May-18-2018 20:09:14 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 9.65
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-01-26T09:29:45.000Z
.67
End Date: Thursday Apr-26-2018 2:29:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .67
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-23T16:10:57.000Z
.98
End Date: Saturday Apr-21-2018 9:10:57 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .98
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-10-23T22:08:05.000Z
.44
End Date: Saturday Apr-21-2018 15:08:05 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .44
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-04-12T13:27:25.000Z
.94
End Date: Wednesday May-2-2018 6:27:25 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .94
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-01-20T18:41:53.000Z
.54
End Date: Wednesday May-9-2018 11:41:53 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .54
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-01-19T03:09:22.000Z
.40
End Date: Friday May-18-2018 20:09:22 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .40
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-07-12T04:49:59.000Z
.75
End Date: Monday May-7-2018 21:49:59 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .75
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-01-14T23:53:47.000Z
.99
End Date: Thursday May-3-2018 16:53:47 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-04-12T13:08:58.000Z
.00
End Date: Wednesday May-2-2018 6:08:58 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-03-24T22:45:18.000Z
.34
End Date: Monday Apr-23-2018 15:45:18 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .34
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-04T03:24:24.000Z
.46
End Date: Thursday May-3-2018 20:24:24 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .46
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-17T19:57:41.000Z
.99 (0 Bids)
End Date: Tuesday Apr-24-2018 12:57:41 PDT
Bid now | Add to watch list
2017-12-10T23:13:34.000Z
.00
End Date: Wednesday May-9-2018 16:13:34 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-02-19T20:27:36.000Z
3.19
End Date: Friday Apr-20-2018 13:27:36 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 3.19
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-01-17T22:27:47.000Z
3.49
End Date: Thursday May-17-2018 15:27:47 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 3.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-03-31T22:27:05.000Z
.99
End Date: Monday Apr-30-2018 15:27:05 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-01-10T21:27:18.000Z
6.19
End Date: Thursday May-10-2018 14:27:18 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 6.19
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-04-03T11:32:22.000Z
.94
End Date: Monday Apr-23-2018 4:32:22 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .94
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2013-02-11T22:21:56.000Z
.49
End Date: Wednesday May-16-2018 15:21:56 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-03-23T22:27:09.000Z
.39
End Date: Sunday Apr-22-2018 15:27:09 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .39
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-02-16T21:33:51.000Z
.39
End Date: Thursday May-17-2018 14:33:51 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .39
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-11-22T19:30:45.000Z
.99
End Date: Saturday Apr-21-2018 12:30:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-03-29T15:41:07.000Z
.05
End Date: Friday May-18-2018 8:41:07 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .05
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T01:20:39.000Z
7.99 (0 Bids)
End Date: Saturday Apr-21-2018 18:20:39 PDT
Bid now | Add to watch list
2017-02-13T09:40:06.000Z
.56
End Date: Wednesday May-9-2018 2:40:06 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .56
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-12-04T19:27:06.000Z
.49
End Date: Thursday May-3-2018 12:27:06 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2015-11-08T01:17:23.000Z
.02
End Date: Wednesday Apr-25-2018 18:17:23 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .02
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-03-30T23:35:50.000Z
.40
End Date: Sunday Apr-29-2018 16:35:50 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .40
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-16T05:01:16.000Z
.65 (0 Bids)
End Date: Sunday Apr-22-2018 22:01:16 PDT
Bid now | Add to watch list
2018-04-02T23:27:16.000Z
.99
End Date: Wednesday May-2-2018 16:27:16 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-07-12T05:37:59.000Z
4.44
End Date: Monday May-7-2018 22:36:58 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 4.44
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-12-21T11:37:57.000Z
.15
End Date: Friday Apr-20-2018 4:37:57 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .15
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-07T20:21:11.000Z
.53
End Date: Monday May-7-2018 13:21:11 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .53
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-12-15T21:42:23.000Z
.24
End Date: Monday May-14-2018 14:42:23 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .24
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-04-14T06:09:39.000Z
.98
End Date: Thursday May-3-2018 23:09:39 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .98
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2015-11-01T19:00:01.000Z
.20
End Date: Thursday Apr-19-2018 12:00:01 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .20
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-04-16T00:10:33.000Z
.98
End Date: Saturday May-5-2018 17:10:33 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .98
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2015-04-14T05:18:48.000Z
.72
End Date: Friday Apr-27-2018 22:18:48 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .72
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2015-11-08T09:35:30.000Z
.20
End Date: Thursday Apr-26-2018 2:35:30 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .20
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2014-10-14T22:27:53.000Z
.69
End Date: Thursday Apr-26-2018 15:27:53 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .69
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-07-09T02:51:10.000Z
.99
End Date: Friday May-4-2018 19:51:10 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-02-21T06:27:22.000Z
.19
End Date: Wednesday May-16-2018 23:27:22 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .19
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-01-10T21:27:23.000Z
.84
End Date: Thursday May-10-2018 14:27:23 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .84
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-03-02T01:08:38.000Z
.99
End Date: Monday Apr-30-2018 18:08:38 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-02-16T08:05:53.000Z
.12
End Date: Thursday May-17-2018 1:05:53 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .12
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2015-08-12T16:27:12.000Z
.41
End Date: Saturday Apr-28-2018 9:27:12 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .41
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2014-01-18T05:53:03.000Z
.62
End Date: Thursday Apr-26-2018 22:53:03 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .62
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-08T23:30:18.000Z
.99
End Date: Tuesday May-8-2018 16:30:18 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-12-11T00:23:13.000Z
.99
End Date: Wednesday May-9-2018 17:23:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-05-21T21:47:34.000Z
.99
End Date: Wednesday May-16-2018 14:47:34 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-05-22T02:19:47.000Z
.99
End Date: Wednesday May-16-2018 19:19:47 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-03-12T21:21:48.000Z
4.49
End Date: Friday May-11-2018 14:21:48 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 4.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2015-05-30T21:28:34.000Z
6.04
End Date: Monday May-14-2018 14:28:34 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 6.04
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T23:30:18.000Z
.84
End Date: Tuesday May-15-2018 16:30:18 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .84
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-04T02:13:49.000Z
.98
End Date: Thursday May-3-2018 19:13:49 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .98
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-11T23:27:25.000Z
.23
End Date: Friday May-11-2018 16:27:25 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .23
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2015-05-16T17:18:13.000Z
0.00
End Date: Monday Apr-30-2018 10:18:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 0.00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-13T05:17:30.000Z
.26
End Date: Sunday Apr-22-2018 22:17:30 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .26
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-08-30T23:25:57.000Z
.47
End Date: Sunday Apr-22-2018 16:25:57 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .47
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-03T05:39:44.000Z
.00
End Date: Wednesday May-2-2018 22:39:44 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-10-08T15:15:02.000Z
6.65
End Date: Tuesday May-1-2018 8:15:02 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 6.65
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-06-12T23:07:48.000Z
0.00
End Date: Tuesday May-8-2018 16:07:48 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 0.00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-19T03:01:13.000Z
.88
End Date: Friday May-18-2018 20:01:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .88
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-06-12T12:23:55.000Z
.11
End Date: Tuesday May-8-2018 5:23:55 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .11
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-06-13T20:05:41.000Z
.31
End Date: Friday May-4-2018 13:05:41 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .31
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-12-21T00:27:13.000Z
.95
End Date: Thursday Apr-19-2018 17:27:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .95
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2015-11-08T13:42:21.000Z
.29
End Date: Thursday Apr-26-2018 6:42:21 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .29
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2015-11-09T10:26:16.000Z
.02
End Date: Friday Apr-27-2018 3:26:16 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .02
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-12-15T21:42:28.000Z
.19
End Date: Monday May-14-2018 14:42:28 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .19
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-06-15T17:22:20.000Z
.00
End Date: Friday May-11-2018 10:22:20 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-03-02T22:51:38.000Z
.11
End Date: Tuesday May-1-2018 15:51:38 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .11
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2015-11-09T09:51:25.000Z
.36
End Date: Friday Apr-27-2018 2:51:25 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .36
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2015-11-08T20:33:18.000Z
1.71
End Date: Thursday Apr-26-2018 13:33:18 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 1.71
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2014-12-06T15:41:32.000Z
7.92
End Date: Thursday Apr-19-2018 8:41:32 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 7.92
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
Comments
Order by: 
Per page:
 
  • There are no comments yet
Photos
Rate
0 votes
Info
Archana
Noida, India
22.02.2016 (22.02.2016)
480
Fans
Opps. Its empty!!
Statistics
Date of BirthNot Specified
EthnicityIndian
Is this Person Alive?Yes
More People from this City
Shradha Sharma is a distinguished celeb and a renowned personality in the field of dance and is also a good actress, who has announced her arrival with a show of exceptional skills and dazzling performances at various occasions. One of the most admired traits of Shradha is her positive attitude towa…
Categories: Celebrities Entrepeneurs Artists 
Gender: Woman
15.02.2018 · From admin
Cameraman and Editor at TV Asia Worked at Ahmedabad, India Studied at Gujarat University Went to Gujarat University Lives in Edison, New Jersey Married From Ahmedabad, India M…
Categories: Journalists 
Gender: Man
29.12.2017 · From admin
Categories: Religious 
Gender: Man
21.09.2017 · From Anil
Kumar Vishwas is a Hindi-language performance poet and an Indian politician and National Executive of Aam Aadmi Party. Vishwas has participated in poetry recitations and functions abroad including the USA, Dubai, Singapore, and Japan.
Gender: Man
09.07.2017 · From silverleafmc
Varsha Joshi is a versatile and natural stage artist with the sangeet bhushan from Bhargava sangeet vidyalaya Vile parle- Mumbai and based here in the US from 2003 with her husband and two daughters Nishtha and Tweesha , who are also budding talents in the music field of singing. Varsha Joshi alias…
Categories: Musicians Entrepeneurs Artists 
Gender: Woman
17.04.2017 · From joshmusical
Genelia D'Souza (born 5 August 1987) is an Indian film actress and model. She has appeared in South Indian cinema and Bollywood films. After gaining wide attention in a Parker Pen commercial with Amitabh Bachchan, Genelia began her acting career with the box-office hit Tujhe Meri Kasam in 2003. She …
Categories: Celebrities Artists 
Gender: Woman
31.03.2017 · From indiafairnj
Ashok Chakradhar is a Hindi poet, writer and a media personality. He has been a professor and head of the department of Hindi at Jamia Millia Islamia (Central University). After serving for 29 years, he took voluntary retirement to focus on working towards the propagation and development of the Hind…
Categories: Celebrities 
Gender: Man
26.03.2017 · From dushahra
Balkrishna made his debut on the annual Forbes list of India’s 100 richest people at the 48th position Yoga guru Ramdev and aide Balkrishna came a long way since 1995, when they started Patanjali with only Rs 3500 in pocket They have stormed into India’s richest 100 club with a $2.5 billion net wo…
Gender: Man
23.09.2016 · From admin
Arif Afzal Usmani is CEO of AsiaTribune TV and chief editor of AsiaTribune Weekly newspaper.  
Gender: Man
31.07.2016 · From Asia
Get personalized advice directly from a Licensed Naturopathic Doctor If you need advanced information about your specific health situation, we can arrange for a consultation with Dr Kumar. Dr Kumar has extensive experience in helping patients achieve better health. If you have a quick ques…
Categories: Doctors 
Gender: Man
03.07.2016 · From drkumar
KRISHNA KUMAR