Awards

Awards and nominations

Wins
Nominations
Bio

Om Rajesh Puri OBE (born 18 October 1950) is an Indian actor who has appeared in mainstream commercial Indian and British films, Independent films and art films. His credits also include appearances in American films. He has been awarded Padma Shri, the fourth highest civilian award of India.

 

Early life

Om Puri was born in Patiala, Punjab, to a Punjabi Hindu family. His father worked in the railways and in the Indian Army. Puri graduated from the Film and Television Institute of India, Pune. He is also an alumnus of the 1973 class of National School of Drama where Naseeruddin Shah was a co-student.

Career

Puri has worked in numerous Indian films and in many films produced in the United Kingdom and the United States.

He made his film debut in the 1976 Marathi film Ghashiram Kotwal, based on a Marathi play of the same name by Vijay Tendulkar. It was directed by K. Hariharan and Mani Kaul in cooperation with 16 graduates of the FTII. He has claimed that he was paid "peanuts" for his best work.[6] Along with Amrish Puri, Naseeruddin Shah, Shabana Azmi and Smita Patil, he was among the main actors who starred in what was then referred to as art films such as Bhavni Bhavai (1980), Sadgati (1981), Ardh Satya (1982), Mirch Masala (1986) and Dharavi (1992).

He was critically acclaimed for his performances in many unconventional roles such as a victimized tribal in Aakrosh (1980) (a film in which he spoke only during flash-back sequences); Jimmy's manager in Disco Dancer (1982); a police inspector in Ardh Satya (1982), where he revolts against lifelong social, cultural and political persecution and for which he got the National Film Award for Best Actor; the leader of a cell of Sikh militants in Maachis (1996); as a tough cop again in the commercial film Gupt in 1997; and as the courageous father of a martyred soldier in Dhoop (2003).

In 1999, Puri acted in a Kannada movie A.K. 47 as a strict police officer who tries to keep the city safe from the underworld — it became a huge commercial hit. Puri's acting in the movie is memorable. He rendered his own voice for the Kannada dialogues. In the same year, he starred in the successful British comedy film East is East, where he played a first-generation Pakistani immigrant in the north of England, struggling to come to terms with his far more westernised children.

Youtube Videos
Om Puri on DD interview conduct by Sr. journalist Sanjay Gaur and journalist Anshu Harsh.....
You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

Person Live Feed
2017-11-16T22:05:43.000Z
.00
End Date: Wednesday Sep-12-2018 15:05:43 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-11-16T22:49:23.000Z
.50
End Date: Wednesday Sep-12-2018 15:49:23 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .50
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-11-16T22:05:40.000Z
.00
End Date: Wednesday Sep-12-2018 15:05:40 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-11-16T20:54:48.000Z
.50
End Date: Wednesday Sep-12-2018 13:54:48 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .50
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-11-16T21:59:52.000Z
.50
End Date: Wednesday Sep-12-2018 14:59:52 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .50
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-11-16T22:52:21.000Z
.00
End Date: Wednesday Sep-12-2018 15:52:21 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-04-23T04:43:16.000Z
.99
End Date: Friday Sep-14-2018 21:43:16 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-03-01T03:48:02.000Z
.25
End Date: Monday Aug-27-2018 20:48:02 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .25
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2015-12-06T03:56:57.000Z
.00
End Date: Thursday Sep-20-2018 20:56:57 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-02-21T10:33:42.000Z
.90
End Date: Saturday Sep-8-2018 3:33:42 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .90
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-02-21T10:33:42.000Z
.90
End Date: Saturday Sep-8-2018 3:33:42 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .90
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-04T22:06:08.000Z
.88
End Date: Sunday Sep-2-2018 15:06:08 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .88
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-04-23T04:42:21.000Z
.99
End Date: Friday Sep-14-2018 21:42:21 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-04-23T04:43:11.000Z
.99
End Date: Friday Sep-14-2018 21:43:11 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-04-23T04:43:18.000Z
.99
End Date: Friday Sep-14-2018 21:43:18 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-02-21T10:33:42.000Z
.90
End Date: Saturday Sep-8-2018 3:33:42 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .90
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-02-21T10:33:42.000Z
.90
End Date: Saturday Sep-8-2018 3:33:42 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .90
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-02-21T10:33:42.000Z
.90
End Date: Saturday Sep-8-2018 3:33:42 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .90
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-04-23T04:43:21.000Z
.99
End Date: Friday Sep-14-2018 21:43:21 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-02-21T10:33:42.000Z
.90
End Date: Saturday Sep-8-2018 3:33:42 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .90
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2014-09-01T22:49:38.000Z
9.99
End Date: Monday Sep-10-2018 15:49:38 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 9.99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2014-09-01T21:54:18.000Z
9.99
End Date: Monday Sep-10-2018 14:54:18 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 9.99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-02-21T10:33:42.000Z
.90
End Date: Saturday Sep-8-2018 3:33:42 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .90
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-02-21T10:33:42.000Z
.90
End Date: Saturday Sep-8-2018 3:33:42 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .90
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-12-19T01:26:22.000Z
.26
End Date: Friday Sep-14-2018 18:26:22 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .26
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-07-18T11:15:49.000Z
.00
End Date: Thursday Sep-6-2018 4:15:49 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-07-13T18:33:05.000Z
.99
End Date: Tuesday Sep-11-2018 11:33:05 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-08-07T21:14:28.000Z
.49
End Date: Thursday Sep-6-2018 14:14:28 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2009-01-03T11:37:10.000Z
.99
End Date: Thursday Sep-13-2018 4:37:10 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-08-16T02:08:05.000Z
.99 (0 Bids)
End Date: Saturday Aug-25-2018 19:08:05 PDT
Bid now | Add to watch list
2018-08-07T21:14:28.000Z
.49
End Date: Thursday Sep-6-2018 14:14:28 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-26T14:53:20.000Z
.91
End Date: Friday Aug-24-2018 7:53:20 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .91
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2014-09-01T22:44:48.000Z
9.99
End Date: Monday Sep-10-2018 15:44:48 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 9.99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-03-13T03:19:52.000Z
.26
End Date: Saturday Sep-8-2018 20:19:52 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .26
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-07-28T02:46:34.000Z
.95
End Date: Sunday Aug-26-2018 19:46:34 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .95
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-07-27T19:57:29.000Z
.25
End Date: Sunday Aug-26-2018 12:57:29 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .25
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-03T03:29:26.000Z
.20
End Date: Thursday Aug-30-2018 20:29:26 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .20
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-02-12T18:06:23.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.26

End Date: Thursday Aug-30-2018 11:06:23 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.26
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-07T03:33:10.000Z
.99
End Date: Monday Sep-3-2018 20:33:10 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-08-19T06:48:34.000Z
.88
End Date: Monday Sep-17-2018 23:48:34 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .88
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-22T04:46:07.000Z
.59
End Date: Tuesday Sep-18-2018 21:46:07 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .59
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-07-16T02:06:34.000Z
.75
End Date: Monday Sep-3-2018 19:06:34 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .75
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-03-12T03:53:10.000Z
.99
End Date: Sunday Sep-2-2018 20:53:10 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-04-11T02:57:31.000Z
.99
End Date: Sunday Sep-2-2018 19:57:31 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-03-12T03:58:20.000Z
.99
End Date: Sunday Sep-2-2018 20:58:20 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-01T05:38:23.000Z
.66
End Date: Tuesday Aug-28-2018 22:38:23 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .66
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-11-20T09:00:44.000Z
.99
End Date: Tuesday Sep-11-2018 2:00:44 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-04-12T12:56:38.000Z
.00
End Date: Tuesday Sep-4-2018 5:56:38 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-06-18T05:01:09.000Z
.05
End Date: Monday Sep-10-2018 22:01:09 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .05
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2012-06-04T13:18:36.000Z
.99
End Date: Saturday Sep-1-2018 6:18:36 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2012-06-04T13:18:36.000Z
.99
End Date: Saturday Sep-1-2018 6:18:36 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-04-12T12:56:40.000Z
.00
End Date: Tuesday Sep-4-2018 5:56:40 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-06-16T18:21:36.000Z
.99
End Date: Sunday Sep-9-2018 11:21:36 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-08-18T18:42:38.000Z
.99
End Date: Tuesday Aug-28-2018 11:42:38 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2015-11-01T03:43:33.000Z
.00
End Date: Saturday Sep-15-2018 20:43:33 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2012-02-23T14:23:31.000Z
.99
End Date: Wednesday Sep-19-2018 7:23:31 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2010-10-24T06:46:15.000Z
.99
End Date: Tuesday Sep-11-2018 23:46:15 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-07-28T08:26:00.000Z
.90
End Date: Monday Aug-27-2018 1:26:00 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .90
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-07-27T16:37:01.000Z
.90
End Date: Sunday Aug-26-2018 9:37:01 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .90
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2011-09-24T14:38:36.000Z
.99
End Date: Monday Sep-17-2018 7:38:36 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-05-29T12:25:36.000Z
.00
End Date: Monday Aug-27-2018 5:25:36 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-24T01:29:58.000Z
.99
End Date: Thursday Sep-20-2018 18:29:58 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-11-06T14:44:43.000Z
.99
End Date: Tuesday Aug-28-2018 7:44:43 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2012-11-06T15:40:06.000Z
.99
End Date: Thursday Sep-6-2018 8:40:06 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2012-12-28T13:44:18.000Z
.99
End Date: Wednesday Aug-29-2018 6:44:18 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2010-05-21T13:26:13.000Z
.99
End Date: Thursday Sep-6-2018 6:26:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2015-11-01T03:29:11.000Z
.00
End Date: Saturday Sep-15-2018 20:29:11 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2012-07-07T14:25:03.000Z
.99
End Date: Tuesday Sep-4-2018 7:25:03 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-12T09:43:49.000Z
.94
End Date: Sunday Sep-9-2018 2:43:49 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .94
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2009-11-18T15:10:53.000Z
.99
End Date: Sunday Sep-2-2018 8:10:53 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-08-01T09:30:38.000Z
.76
End Date: Sunday Aug-26-2018 2:30:38 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .76
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-15T16:52:53.000Z
.99
End Date: Thursday Sep-13-2018 9:52:53 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-01-13T03:27:04.000Z
.73
End Date: Sunday Sep-9-2018 20:27:04 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .73
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-08-16T00:36:19.000Z
.99 (0 Bids)
End Date: Saturday Aug-25-2018 17:36:19 PDT
Bid now | Add to watch list
2018-08-18T01:45:15.000Z
.90
End Date: Sunday Sep-16-2018 18:45:15 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .90
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2011-06-06T13:50:25.000Z
.99
End Date: Tuesday Aug-28-2018 6:50:25 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-15T03:57:02.000Z
.35
End Date: Tuesday Sep-11-2018 20:57:02 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .35
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-03-28T03:09:29.000Z
.44
End Date: Friday Aug-24-2018 20:09:29 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .44
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-09-06T03:30:33.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.50

End Date: Sunday Aug-26-2018 20:30:33 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.50
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-13T01:26:37.000Z
.11
End Date: Sunday Sep-9-2018 18:26:37 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .11
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-05-13T17:43:05.000Z
.25
End Date: Monday Sep-10-2018 10:43:05 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .25
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-07-10T18:32:00.000Z
.99
End Date: Saturday Sep-8-2018 11:32:00 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-08-07T02:37:17.000Z
.00
End Date: Wednesday Sep-5-2018 19:37:17 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-01-05T02:58:31.000Z
.35
End Date: Saturday Sep-1-2018 19:58:31 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .35
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-08-21T22:23:40.000Z
.99
End Date: Thursday Sep-20-2018 15:23:40 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-07-24T11:44:13.000Z
.99
End Date: Thursday Aug-23-2018 4:44:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-21T11:22:35.000Z
.18
End Date: Wednesday Sep-19-2018 4:22:35 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .18
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-08-18T02:14:27.000Z
.73
End Date: Sunday Sep-16-2018 19:14:27 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .73
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-07-21T03:49:25.000Z
.98
End Date: Tuesday Sep-18-2018 20:49:25 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .98
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-08-16T02:26:19.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.84

End Date: Friday Sep-14-2018 19:26:19 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.84
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-08-19T16:12:17.000Z
.99
End Date: Tuesday Sep-18-2018 9:12:17 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-07-31T15:18:36.000Z
.99
End Date: Thursday Aug-30-2018 8:18:36 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-04T02:57:53.000Z
.22
End Date: Friday Aug-31-2018 19:57:53 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .22
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2012-11-01T08:41:42.000Z
.99
End Date: Saturday Sep-1-2018 1:41:42 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-08-02T23:34:27.000Z
.00
End Date: Saturday Sep-1-2018 16:34:27 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-01-05T03:03:05.000Z
.35
End Date: Saturday Sep-1-2018 20:03:05 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .35
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-08-09T00:39:06.000Z
.99
End Date: Friday Sep-7-2018 17:39:06 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-08-16T19:32:32.000Z
.99
End Date: Saturday Sep-15-2018 12:32:32 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-04T05:14:08.000Z
.20
End Date: Saturday Sep-1-2018 22:14:08 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .20
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-12-16T05:10:25.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.50

End Date: Thursday Sep-6-2018 22:10:25 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.50
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
Comments
Order by: 
Per page:
 
  • There are no comments yet
Photos
Rate
0 votes
Info
archi_pandey9190
noida, India
12.02.2016 (12.02.2016)
271
Fans
Opps. Its empty!!
Statistics
Date of BirthNov 30, 1949
EthnicityAsian
Is this Person Alive?Yes
More People from this City
Shradha Sharma is a distinguished celeb and a renowned personality in the field of dance and is also a good actress, who has announced her arrival with a show of exceptional skills and dazzling performances at various occasions. One of the most admired traits of Shradha is her positive attitude towa…
Categories: Celebrities Entrepeneurs Artists 
Gender: Woman
15.02.2018 · From admin
Cameraman and Editor at TV Asia Worked at Ahmedabad, India Studied at Gujarat University Went to Gujarat University Lives in Edison, New Jersey Married From Ahmedabad, India M…
Categories: Journalists 
Gender: Man
29.12.2017 · From admin
Categories: Religious 
Gender: Man
21.09.2017 · From Anil
Kumar Vishwas is a Hindi-language performance poet and an Indian politician and National Executive of Aam Aadmi Party. Vishwas has participated in poetry recitations and functions abroad including the USA, Dubai, Singapore, and Japan.
Gender: Man
09.07.2017 · From silverleafmc
Varsha Joshi is a versatile and natural stage artist with the sangeet bhushan from Bhargava sangeet vidyalaya Vile parle- Mumbai and based here in the US from 2003 with her husband and two daughters Nishtha and Tweesha , who are also budding talents in the music field of singing. Varsha Joshi alias…
Categories: Musicians Entrepeneurs Artists 
Gender: Woman
17.04.2017 · From joshmusical
Genelia D'Souza (born 5 August 1987) is an Indian film actress and model. She has appeared in South Indian cinema and Bollywood films. After gaining wide attention in a Parker Pen commercial with Amitabh Bachchan, Genelia began her acting career with the box-office hit Tujhe Meri Kasam in 2003. She …
Categories: Celebrities Artists 
Gender: Woman
31.03.2017 · From indiafairnj
Ashok Chakradhar is a Hindi poet, writer and a media personality. He has been a professor and head of the department of Hindi at Jamia Millia Islamia (Central University). After serving for 29 years, he took voluntary retirement to focus on working towards the propagation and development of the Hind…
Categories: Celebrities 
Gender: Man
26.03.2017 · From dushahra
Balkrishna made his debut on the annual Forbes list of India’s 100 richest people at the 48th position Yoga guru Ramdev and aide Balkrishna came a long way since 1995, when they started Patanjali with only Rs 3500 in pocket They have stormed into India’s richest 100 club with a $2.5 billion net wo…
Gender: Man
23.09.2016 · From admin
Arif Afzal Usmani is CEO of AsiaTribune TV and chief editor of AsiaTribune Weekly newspaper.  
Gender: Man
31.07.2016 · From Asia
Get personalized advice directly from a Licensed Naturopathic Doctor If you need advanced information about your specific health situation, we can arrange for a consultation with Dr Kumar. Dr Kumar has extensive experience in helping patients achieve better health. If you have a quick ques…
Categories: Doctors 
Gender: Man
03.07.2016 · From drkumar
Om Puri