Awards

Achievements and Awards 
Professor Jagdish Bhagwati has been honored with many prestigious awards such as the Indian Econometric Society's Mahalanobis Memorial Medal in 1974. Seidman Distinguished Award in International Political Economy in 1998 and the distinguished Padma Vibhushan in 2000. The Lifetime Achievement Award by the Indian Chamber of Commerce was given to him in 2004 and the Japanese government granted him Order of the Rising Sun, Gold and Silver Star award in 2006. Jagdish Bhagwati is a partisan whose contribution towards global economic welfare has been immense. He has worked under various economic conditions helping them to bring about a change in their situation, from some of the richest economies to the poorest in Africa and Asia. Jagdish has managed to bring about a productive change in these provinces. 

Bio

Famous As Economist and Educator
Born On 26 July, 1934
Born In Mumbai, India 
Nationality Indian

Professor Jagdish Bhagwati is an Indian born American economic professor and one of the primo international trade economists of his times. University Professor of Economics and Law at Columbia University and Senior Fellow in International Economics at the Council on Foreign Relations, Bhagwati is best known for his espousal of free global trade. An active counselor for the United Nation, WTO and chairman of the UNCTAD Panel of Eminent Persons on "Development-centered Globalization, he enjoys a distinguished reputation on the international front among his peers. He has been conferred six Festschrifts, honorary degrees and several awards including the Freedom Prize, the Bernhard Harms Prize, the Thomas Schelling Award, and Padma Vibhushan. His unautocratic approach towards capitalistic economy and his strong disapproval of state interference over trade regulations, taxes and traffic have grabbed him lot of good and bad press. Apart from being a teacher and an advisor, Professor Bhagwati is quite a distinguished writer and columnist who has written nearly 300 articles and is a regular columnist for The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Financial Times. 

Early Life 
Jagdish Bhagwati was born in a Gujarati family in the year 1934 in Mumbai. He graduated from Sydenham College in Mumbai and then went on to study economics at St John's College at Cambridge in London. He completed his Ph.D. in economics from Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1967. His two siblings, P.N. Bhagwati and S.N. Bhagwati are distinguished public figures. His brother P.N. Bhagwati was the former Chief Justice of India, while his other sibling S.N. Bhagwati is a renowned neurosurgeon. 

Career 
Jagdish began his career as a lecturer to support himself before he established himself as a distinguished economist. He started his career by teaching in Indian Statistical Institute and Delhi School of Economics before he moved on to teach at Massachusetts Institute of Technology and later at Columbia University. During his years as a professor, Jagdish did extensive research on democratic economic strategies. Apart from this, he has been a part of the prestigious panel of advisors for various international economic organizations. Besides, guiding the Director General of the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade, he has served as the special advisor of United Nations on globalization. He has also served as an independent counselor to the director generals of the WTO. Over the years, his economic expertise on diverse issues has been sought after by several nations around the globe. He has been a part of the Copenhagen Consensus project that was based on the welfare ideologies of economics. In 2010, he was appointed as the important counseling member for migrant rights in Indonesia. Currently, Jagdish Bhagwati is on the advisory board for Academic Advisory Board of Human Rights Watch (Asia), Centre for Civil Society and a fellow member of Council on Foreign Relations. Jagdish has penned his democratic stance in various books and journals such as 'In Defense of Globalization', 'Free Trade Today', 'The Wind of the Hundred Days', 'A Stream of Windows', 'India in Transition', 'World Trading System at Risk', 'Protectionism', 'Economics & Politics', 'The Journal of International Economics', etc. are some of his best publications. 


Personal Life 
Jagdish is married to Padma Desai, a well-known Columbian economist and the couple has a daughter. 

Time Line 
1934: He was born in Mumbai.
1956: He earned his degree from St John's University in Cambridge.
1961: After completing his Ph.D., he returned to India to teach for a few years. 
1968: Jagdish returned to America to teach at Massachusetts Institute of Technology. 
1974: Indian Econometric Society's Mahalanobis Memorial Medal was granted to him.
1998: Received Seidman Distinguished Award in International Political Economy.
2000: He was awarded the Padma Vibhushan. 
2001: Served as an advisor to the United Nations on globalization.
2004: "In Defense of Globalization" was published by him. 
2010: Became the counselor for migrant rights in Indonesia.

Youtube Videos
Prof. Jagdish Bhagwati interviews by TP Sreenivasan | Videsha Vicharam 16 September 2015 Part 1
You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

Person Live Feed
2018-08-15T18:22:13.000Z
.00
End Date: Friday Sep-14-2018 11:22:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-05-24T16:42:40.000Z
.99
End Date: Wednesday Aug-22-2018 9:42:40 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2013-06-10T21:25:04.000Z
.91
End Date: Wednesday Sep-12-2018 14:25:04 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .91
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-08-30T14:40:38.000Z
.00
End Date: Saturday Aug-25-2018 7:40:38 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-08T17:33:38.000Z
.00
End Date: Wednesday Sep-5-2018 10:33:38 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-07-06T19:41:38.000Z
.50
End Date: Tuesday Sep-4-2018 12:41:38 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .50
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-08-06T19:39:37.000Z
.33
End Date: Friday Aug-31-2018 12:39:37 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .33
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-08-01T22:54:11.000Z
.59
End Date: Friday Aug-31-2018 15:54:11 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .59
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-08-19T21:09:36.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.99
(0 Bids)
End Date: Sunday Aug-26-2018 14:09:36 PDT
Bid now | Add to watch list
2018-03-17T16:21:52.000Z
.02
End Date: Thursday Sep-13-2018 9:21:52 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .02
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-03-21T20:16:58.000Z
.73
End Date: Wednesday Sep-12-2018 13:16:58 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .73
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-03-21T19:33:37.000Z
7.89
End Date: Wednesday Sep-12-2018 12:33:37 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 7.89
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-12-28T05:11:38.000Z
0.02
End Date: Tuesday Sep-18-2018 22:11:38 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 0.02
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-12-30T08:59:19.000Z
5.82
End Date: Wednesday Aug-22-2018 1:59:19 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 5.82
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-12-28T05:13:23.000Z
.51
End Date: Tuesday Sep-18-2018 22:13:23 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .51
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-08-13T11:32:27.000Z
.99
End Date: Sunday Sep-2-2018 4:32:27 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-09-16T18:13:03.000Z
.99
End Date: Thursday Sep-6-2018 11:13:03 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-05-13T10:26:37.000Z
.07
End Date: Monday Sep-10-2018 3:26:37 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .07
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-08-31T05:20:53.000Z
.99
End Date: Wednesday Sep-19-2018 22:20:53 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-01-10T22:18:16.000Z
.00
End Date: Sunday Sep-2-2018 15:18:16 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-20T18:28:43.000Z
.83
End Date: Tuesday Sep-18-2018 11:28:43 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .83
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-05-10T05:46:32.000Z
.19
End Date: Thursday Sep-6-2018 22:46:32 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .19
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-20T00:49:49.000Z
.27
End Date: Monday Sep-17-2018 17:49:49 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .27
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-07-10T16:40:40.000Z
.07
End Date: Saturday Sep-8-2018 9:40:40 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .07
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-07-01T02:31:59.000Z
.00
End Date: Friday Aug-24-2018 19:31:59 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-28T19:39:54.000Z
.99
End Date: Monday Aug-27-2018 12:39:54 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-28T19:41:49.000Z
.99
End Date: Monday Aug-27-2018 12:41:49 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-06-12T19:35:03.000Z
4.35
End Date: Wednesday Sep-5-2018 12:34:03 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 4.35
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-01-10T15:33:44.000Z
.45
End Date: Friday Sep-7-2018 8:33:44 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .45
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-01-16T09:05:50.000Z
.28
End Date: Thursday Sep-13-2018 2:05:50 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .28
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-02T09:21:51.000Z
.99
End Date: Thursday Aug-30-2018 2:21:51 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2015-10-30T00:33:49.000Z
9.99
End Date: Thursday Sep-13-2018 17:33:49 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 9.99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2013-06-10T02:02:24.000Z
.27
End Date: Tuesday Sep-11-2018 19:02:24 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .27
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-08-18T23:49:32.000Z
.05
End Date: Monday Sep-17-2018 16:49:32 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .05
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-22T00:23:58.000Z
.88
End Date: Wednesday Sep-19-2018 17:23:58 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .88
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-07-16T05:43:19.000Z
.29
End Date: Saturday Sep-8-2018 10:43:03 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .29
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-19T02:26:52.000Z
.00
End Date: Sunday Sep-16-2018 19:26:52 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-07-28T07:52:19.000Z
.50
End Date: Monday Aug-27-2018 0:52:19 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .50
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-21T07:03:52.000Z
.20
End Date: Tuesday Sep-18-2018 0:03:52 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .20
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-03-06T08:07:15.000Z
.19
End Date: Sunday Sep-2-2018 1:07:15 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .19
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-03-09T08:43:06.000Z
.50
End Date: Wednesday Sep-5-2018 1:43:06 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .50
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-03-10T08:06:04.000Z
.48
End Date: Thursday Sep-6-2018 1:06:04 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .48
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-01-27T09:41:50.000Z
.11
End Date: Saturday Aug-25-2018 2:41:50 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .11
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-06-26T22:28:15.000Z
8.33
End Date: Wednesday Sep-19-2018 15:28:15 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 8.33
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-08-23T20:49:34.000Z
.99
End Date: Monday Sep-17-2018 13:49:34 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-08-10T20:09:38.000Z
.99
End Date: Thursday Aug-30-2018 13:09:38 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-08-13T13:05:52.000Z
.99
End Date: Sunday Sep-2-2018 6:05:52 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-02-07T20:58:03.000Z
.99
End Date: Wednesday Sep-5-2018 13:58:03 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-11-29T10:21:56.000Z
.99
End Date: Sunday Aug-26-2018 3:21:56 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-12T09:21:18.000Z
.98
End Date: Friday Sep-7-2018 2:21:18 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .98
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-22T08:50:08.000Z
.98
End Date: Monday Sep-17-2018 1:50:08 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .98
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-10-03T08:53:14.000Z
.98
End Date: Wednesday Aug-29-2018 1:53:14 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .98
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-04-03T05:54:03.000Z
.81
End Date: Wednesday Sep-19-2018 22:54:03 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .81
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-07-25T01:28:53.000Z
.95
End Date: Thursday Aug-23-2018 18:28:53 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .95
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-01T09:10:17.000Z
.95
End Date: Thursday Aug-30-2018 2:10:17 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .95
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-08-04T05:12:51.000Z
.75
End Date: Sunday Sep-2-2018 22:12:51 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .75
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
Comments
Order by: 
Per page:
 
  • There are no comments yet
Photos
Rate
0 votes
Info
Archana
Noida, India
31.01.2016 (31.01.2016)
362
Fans
Opps. Its empty!!
Statistics
Date of BirthJul 26, 1934
EthnicityIndian
Is this Person Alive?Yes
More People from this City
Shradha Sharma is a distinguished celeb and a renowned personality in the field of dance and is also a good actress, who has announced her arrival with a show of exceptional skills and dazzling performances at various occasions. One of the most admired traits of Shradha is her positive attitude towa…
Categories: Celebrities Entrepeneurs Artists 
Gender: Woman
15.02.2018 · From admin
Cameraman and Editor at TV Asia Worked at Ahmedabad, India Studied at Gujarat University Went to Gujarat University Lives in Edison, New Jersey Married From Ahmedabad, India M…
Categories: Journalists 
Gender: Man
29.12.2017 · From admin
Categories: Religious 
Gender: Man
21.09.2017 · From Anil
Kumar Vishwas is a Hindi-language performance poet and an Indian politician and National Executive of Aam Aadmi Party. Vishwas has participated in poetry recitations and functions abroad including the USA, Dubai, Singapore, and Japan.
Gender: Man
09.07.2017 · From silverleafmc
Varsha Joshi is a versatile and natural stage artist with the sangeet bhushan from Bhargava sangeet vidyalaya Vile parle- Mumbai and based here in the US from 2003 with her husband and two daughters Nishtha and Tweesha , who are also budding talents in the music field of singing. Varsha Joshi alias…
Categories: Musicians Entrepeneurs Artists 
Gender: Woman
17.04.2017 · From joshmusical
Genelia D'Souza (born 5 August 1987) is an Indian film actress and model. She has appeared in South Indian cinema and Bollywood films. After gaining wide attention in a Parker Pen commercial with Amitabh Bachchan, Genelia began her acting career with the box-office hit Tujhe Meri Kasam in 2003. She …
Categories: Celebrities Artists 
Gender: Woman
31.03.2017 · From indiafairnj
Ashok Chakradhar is a Hindi poet, writer and a media personality. He has been a professor and head of the department of Hindi at Jamia Millia Islamia (Central University). After serving for 29 years, he took voluntary retirement to focus on working towards the propagation and development of the Hind…
Categories: Celebrities 
Gender: Man
26.03.2017 · From dushahra
Balkrishna made his debut on the annual Forbes list of India’s 100 richest people at the 48th position Yoga guru Ramdev and aide Balkrishna came a long way since 1995, when they started Patanjali with only Rs 3500 in pocket They have stormed into India’s richest 100 club with a $2.5 billion net wo…
Gender: Man
23.09.2016 · From admin
Arif Afzal Usmani is CEO of AsiaTribune TV and chief editor of AsiaTribune Weekly newspaper.  
Gender: Man
31.07.2016 · From Asia
Get personalized advice directly from a Licensed Naturopathic Doctor If you need advanced information about your specific health situation, we can arrange for a consultation with Dr Kumar. Dr Kumar has extensive experience in helping patients achieve better health. If you have a quick ques…
Categories: Doctors 
Gender: Man
03.07.2016 · From drkumar
Prof Jagdish N. Bhagwati