Bio

Oneof the foremost speakers the Ottawa-based International Development Research Center invited as part of its India Lectures series this year was Professor Ramesh Thakur, distinguished fellow, Center for International Governance Innovation, Waterloo, Ontario. Thakur, an incisive commentator on India’s current affairs and foreign relations, spoke on ‘India Rising and Shinning: Will it prove a False Dawn?’ From 1998 to 2007, he was vice rector, United Nations University, Tokyo, Japan. Before that, he spent a couple of years teaching at Fiji, then for 15 years in New Zealand and at the Australian University in Canberra. “Fiji became a political problem but New Zealand and Australia are lovely countries — like Canada,” Thakur explains. “I was always a foreigner in Japan as it was a different world, interacting in the diplomatic community.” “My work reflects the changes in the world,” Thakur says modestly.

He has published over a dozen books, including Keeping Proliferation at Bay, Past Imperfect, Future uncertain: The United Nations at Fifty and Nuclear Weapons-Free Zones. Nowadays, his focus is more on Canada-India relations. He wrote a series of articles on the recent Indian general elections. The Bharatiya Janata Party, he says, faced serious reverses this time “as they lost the youth votes. Secondly, they lost the urban votes. Both of these are growing voters cohorts. They lost both these votes for a number of reasons, one of which is the divisiveness of the Hindutva agenda.” Another factor for the BJP’s downfall, he says, was its opposition to the India-United States nuclear deal: “The deal was supported overwhelmingly and in every public opinion polls it was supported in India. That annoyed the urban voters and young people in particular, both of them were known to be the supporters of the BJP,” he says.

About the India-US deal, which ended the decadesold India’s nuclear isolation in the world, Thakur says the Non Proliferation Treaty has issues. “The NPT defined the nuclear weapon system as the country that exploded the nuclear device and tested it before January 1, 1967 [India tested in 1974 and 1998]. It is a chronological definition rather than any objective, factual and critical definition. Then you have this basic problem of India and Pakistan. They cannot be accepted as nuclear weapon states by this artificial NPT definition but the fact is both India and Pakistan are nuclear weapon States. To accept them you have to change the treaty and it means it has to be once again ratified by every country that has signed the treaty excepting India, Pakistan, Israel and North Korea.” The nuclear deal, he believes, is good for India and the world. At present, nuclear power contributes just 2 percent of India’s power generation.

“Once all the proposed nuclear plans come on phase,” Thakur explains, “India will match the global profile of 15 to 20 percent of electricity being generated by nuclear energy.” That means, he points out, environmental advantages — as nuclear energy is cleaner — and also helps India have a “diversified energy portfolio.” Does he believe India is shining? Despite rapid growth during the last 15 years, he replies, India still has “the most poor people than any part of the world and the country also has the highest rate of illiteracy, around 40 percent.” Add to that, he says, in the last five years about 17,000 Indian farmers “are committing suicide each year.” What about Indo-Canadians? Are they a force to reckon with in Canada now? He says unlike the Indian Diaspora in the United States, “we haven’t been as active and therefore we haven’t been as influential in shaping Canadian policies as Indians in America have succeeded in doing.”

Youtube Videos
Interview with Ramesh Thakur on Global Governance AIIAvision
You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

Person Live Feed
2015-05-26T20:43:48.000Z
.00
End Date: Thursday May-10-2018 13:43:48 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-03-21T07:06:17.000Z
7.32
End Date: Friday Apr-20-2018 0:06:17 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 7.32
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-03-06T17:55:34.000Z
8.35
End Date: Saturday May-5-2018 10:55:34 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 8.35
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-07-05T21:23:44.000Z
6.03
End Date: Thursday Apr-26-2018 14:23:44 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 6.03
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2015-09-10T18:41:37.000Z
2.69
End Date: Friday Apr-27-2018 11:41:37 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 2.69
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-03-13T07:29:45.000Z
.38
End Date: Saturday May-12-2018 0:29:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .38
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-03-11T17:38:10.000Z
7.99
End Date: Monday Apr-30-2018 10:38:10 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 7.99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-06-08T23:05:59.000Z
.99
End Date: Friday May-4-2018 16:05:59 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-04T02:13:15.000Z
.47
End Date: Thursday May-3-2018 19:13:15 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .47
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-07-15T09:10:20.000Z
.75
End Date: Friday May-11-2018 2:10:20 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .75
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-05-02T22:04:27.000Z
.98
End Date: Friday Apr-27-2018 15:04:27 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .98
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-07-15T08:42:02.000Z
.98
End Date: Friday May-11-2018 1:42:02 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .98
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-04T13:46:35.000Z
.23
End Date: Friday May-4-2018 6:46:35 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .23
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-05-02T22:05:22.000Z
.97
End Date: Friday Apr-27-2018 15:05:22 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .97
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-07-22T07:10:54.000Z
.17
End Date: Sunday May-13-2018 0:10:54 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .17
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2015-08-25T17:44:14.000Z
.29
End Date: Friday May-11-2018 10:44:14 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .29
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-02-15T01:43:23.000Z
.62
End Date: Tuesday May-15-2018 18:43:23 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .62
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-02-25T02:53:22.000Z
9.53
End Date: Wednesday Apr-25-2018 19:53:22 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 9.53
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-19T07:08:03.000Z
6.85
End Date: Saturday May-19-2018 0:08:03 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 6.85
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-10-15T19:42:40.000Z
.99
End Date: Sunday May-13-2018 12:42:40 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-01-01T15:29:18.000Z
9.49
End Date: Friday Apr-20-2018 8:29:18 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 9.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-12-05T20:40:30.000Z
.12
End Date: Friday May-4-2018 13:40:30 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .12
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-12-18T01:38:57.000Z
.95
End Date: Wednesday May-16-2018 18:38:57 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .95
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-11-28T22:47:16.000Z
.05
End Date: Friday Apr-27-2018 15:47:16 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .05
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-12-29T14:27:38.000Z
.11
End Date: Saturday Apr-28-2018 7:27:38 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .11
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-04T04:52:30.000Z
.47
End Date: Thursday May-3-2018 21:52:30 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .47
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2015-11-14T10:14:59.000Z
.98
End Date: Wednesday May-2-2018 3:14:59 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .98
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-04T08:12:02.000Z
7.89
End Date: Friday May-4-2018 1:12:02 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 7.89
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-04T15:52:24.000Z
4.28
End Date: Friday May-4-2018 8:52:24 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 4.28
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-05-09T13:37:08.000Z
9.05
End Date: Friday May-4-2018 6:37:08 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 9.05
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-04T04:32:00.000Z
.98
End Date: Thursday May-3-2018 21:32:00 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .98
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-04T13:22:54.000Z
.13
End Date: Friday May-4-2018 6:22:54 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .13
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-04T09:12:17.000Z
.05
End Date: Friday May-4-2018 2:12:17 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .05
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-18T00:52:52.000Z
.38
End Date: Thursday May-17-2018 17:52:52 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .38
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-18T02:44:20.000Z
7.66
End Date: Thursday May-17-2018 19:44:20 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 7.66
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-18T03:57:26.000Z
5.54
End Date: Thursday May-17-2018 20:57:26 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 5.54
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-01-06T19:52:25.000Z
.39
End Date: Sunday May-6-2018 12:52:25 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .39
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2015-01-30T12:38:23.000Z
.58
End Date: Monday May-14-2018 5:38:23 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .58
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-18T01:53:32.000Z
.76
End Date: Thursday May-17-2018 18:53:32 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .76
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-05-20T23:26:34.000Z
3.03
End Date: Thursday May-10-2018 16:26:34 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 3.03
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-06-01T10:03:19.000Z
3.03
End Date: Sunday Apr-22-2018 3:03:19 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 3.03
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-10-11T08:21:41.000Z
.59
End Date: Wednesday May-9-2018 1:21:41 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .59
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-02-16T03:16:49.000Z
8.72
End Date: Wednesday May-16-2018 20:16:49 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 8.72
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2014-11-23T22:49:15.000Z
9.60
End Date: Sunday May-6-2018 15:49:15 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 9.60
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-01-14T18:19:04.000Z
.54
End Date: Monday May-14-2018 11:19:04 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .54
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-07-17T08:43:26.000Z
.98
End Date: Sunday May-13-2018 1:43:26 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .98
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2013-06-05T15:10:30.000Z
4.45
End Date: Thursday May-10-2018 8:10:30 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 4.45
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-11-15T08:41:25.000Z
0.47
End Date: Wednesday May-9-2018 1:41:25 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 0.47
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2015-11-09T00:15:05.000Z
.11
End Date: Thursday Apr-26-2018 17:15:05 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .11
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-07T17:47:36.000Z
.94
End Date: Saturday May-5-2018 10:47:36 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .94
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-12-09T18:25:12.000Z
.54
End Date: Tuesday May-8-2018 11:25:12 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .54
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-08-24T10:07:29.000Z
.40
End Date: Wednesday May-16-2018 3:07:29 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .40
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-05-08T22:53:43.000Z
.97
End Date: Thursday May-3-2018 15:53:43 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .97
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2013-02-11T19:43:18.000Z
.97
End Date: Wednesday May-16-2018 12:43:18 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .97
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2012-01-29T02:13:53.000Z
1.76
End Date: Thursday Apr-26-2018 19:13:53 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 1.76
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-10-13T18:22:55.000Z
.10
End Date: Friday May-11-2018 11:21:55 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .10
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-10-16T22:32:14.000Z
.90
End Date: Monday May-14-2018 15:31:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .90
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-10-13T18:23:01.000Z
.83
End Date: Friday May-11-2018 11:22:00 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .83
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-10-13T18:22:36.000Z
.51
End Date: Friday May-11-2018 11:21:36 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .51
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-10-17T01:26:27.000Z
.37
End Date: Monday May-14-2018 18:25:27 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .37
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-01-11T16:47:55.000Z
.33
End Date: Sunday May-6-2018 9:47:55 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .33
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-10-13T22:07:27.000Z
.15
End Date: Friday May-11-2018 15:06:26 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .15
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-10-06T22:12:09.000Z
.51
End Date: Friday May-4-2018 15:11:09 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .51
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-10-13T22:07:45.000Z
.58
End Date: Friday May-11-2018 15:06:44 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .58
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-10-30T01:45:05.000Z
.18
End Date: Sunday Apr-22-2018 18:45:05 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .18
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-17T01:11:53.000Z
.19
End Date: Wednesday May-16-2018 18:11:53 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .19
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-10-17T01:26:34.000Z
.42
End Date: Monday May-14-2018 18:25:33 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .42
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-06-16T18:15:23.000Z
.15
End Date: Saturday May-12-2018 11:15:23 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .15
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-13T13:26:04.000Z
.19
End Date: Sunday May-13-2018 6:26:04 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .19
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-08-28T15:00:56.000Z
.07
End Date: Wednesday Apr-25-2018 7:59:56 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .07
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2012-12-17T04:07:47.000Z
.68
End Date: Thursday Apr-19-2018 21:07:47 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .68
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-03-14T02:09:08.000Z
.58
End Date: Saturday May-12-2018 19:09:08 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .58
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-10-13T22:07:07.000Z
.42
End Date: Friday May-11-2018 15:06:07 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .42
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-16T10:39:06.000Z
.99
End Date: Wednesday May-16-2018 3:39:06 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-12-17T00:32:05.000Z
.75
End Date: Tuesday May-15-2018 17:32:05 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .75
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-03-09T10:34:16.000Z
.42
End Date: Tuesday May-8-2018 3:34:16 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .42
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-03-25T04:05:57.000Z
.30
End Date: Friday May-18-2018 21:05:57 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .30
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-02-21T21:59:43.000Z
.95
End Date: Sunday Apr-22-2018 14:59:43 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .95
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-19T19:18:10.000Z
.82
End Date: Thursday May-17-2018 12:18:10 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .82
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-16T06:10:39.000Z
.78
End Date: Sunday May-13-2018 23:10:39 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .78
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-10-05T10:08:46.000Z
.52
End Date: Thursday May-3-2018 3:08:46 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .52
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-01-13T08:12:14.000Z
.99
End Date: Sunday May-13-2018 1:12:14 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-08-13T15:04:33.000Z
.99
End Date: Saturday May-5-2018 8:04:33 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-02-10T11:59:34.000Z
.99
End Date: Friday May-11-2018 4:59:34 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-06-04T16:06:02.000Z
.99
End Date: Wednesday Apr-25-2018 9:06:02 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-13T08:38:23.000Z
,999.00 (0 Bids)
End Date: Friday Apr-20-2018 1:38:23 PDT
Bid now | Add to watch list
2018-04-16T14:50:53.000Z
.87
End Date: Wednesday May-16-2018 7:50:53 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .87
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-01-30T09:25:28.000Z
7.06
End Date: Monday Apr-30-2018 2:25:28 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 7.06
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-05-02T00:13:48.000Z
.10
End Date: Saturday Apr-21-2018 17:13:48 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .10
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-03-23T19:04:19.000Z
.49
End Date: Saturday May-12-2018 12:04:19 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-04-01T20:31:18.000Z
.92
End Date: Saturday Apr-21-2018 13:31:18 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .92
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-12-05T20:40:17.000Z
.82
End Date: Friday May-4-2018 13:40:17 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .82
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T06:11:23.000Z
.25
End Date: Saturday May-12-2018 23:11:23 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .25
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-03-01T06:09:03.000Z
.99
End Date: Sunday Apr-29-2018 23:09:03 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-11-26T13:34:14.000Z
.99
End Date: Wednesday Apr-25-2018 6:34:14 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-07-28T10:27:32.000Z
.98
End Date: Tuesday Apr-24-2018 3:27:32 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .98
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
Comments
Order by: 
Per page:
 
  • There are no comments yet
Photos
Rate
0 votes
Info
Archana
Noida, India
22.02.2016 (22.02.2016)
597
Fans
Opps. Its empty!!
Statistics
Date of BirthNot Specified
EthnicityIndian
Is this Person Alive?Yes
More People from this City
Shradha Sharma is a distinguished celeb and a renowned personality in the field of dance and is also a good actress, who has announced her arrival with a show of exceptional skills and dazzling performances at various occasions. One of the most admired traits of Shradha is her positive attitude towa…
Categories: Celebrities Entrepeneurs Artists 
Gender: Woman
15.02.2018 · From admin
Cameraman and Editor at TV Asia Worked at Ahmedabad, India Studied at Gujarat University Went to Gujarat University Lives in Edison, New Jersey Married From Ahmedabad, India M…
Categories: Journalists 
Gender: Man
29.12.2017 · From admin
Categories: Religious 
Gender: Man
21.09.2017 · From Anil
Kumar Vishwas is a Hindi-language performance poet and an Indian politician and National Executive of Aam Aadmi Party. Vishwas has participated in poetry recitations and functions abroad including the USA, Dubai, Singapore, and Japan.
Gender: Man
09.07.2017 · From silverleafmc
Varsha Joshi is a versatile and natural stage artist with the sangeet bhushan from Bhargava sangeet vidyalaya Vile parle- Mumbai and based here in the US from 2003 with her husband and two daughters Nishtha and Tweesha , who are also budding talents in the music field of singing. Varsha Joshi alias…
Categories: Musicians Entrepeneurs Artists 
Gender: Woman
17.04.2017 · From joshmusical
Genelia D'Souza (born 5 August 1987) is an Indian film actress and model. She has appeared in South Indian cinema and Bollywood films. After gaining wide attention in a Parker Pen commercial with Amitabh Bachchan, Genelia began her acting career with the box-office hit Tujhe Meri Kasam in 2003. She …
Categories: Celebrities Artists 
Gender: Woman
31.03.2017 · From indiafairnj
Ashok Chakradhar is a Hindi poet, writer and a media personality. He has been a professor and head of the department of Hindi at Jamia Millia Islamia (Central University). After serving for 29 years, he took voluntary retirement to focus on working towards the propagation and development of the Hind…
Categories: Celebrities 
Gender: Man
26.03.2017 · From dushahra
Balkrishna made his debut on the annual Forbes list of India’s 100 richest people at the 48th position Yoga guru Ramdev and aide Balkrishna came a long way since 1995, when they started Patanjali with only Rs 3500 in pocket They have stormed into India’s richest 100 club with a $2.5 billion net wo…
Gender: Man
23.09.2016 · From admin
Arif Afzal Usmani is CEO of AsiaTribune TV and chief editor of AsiaTribune Weekly newspaper.  
Gender: Man
31.07.2016 · From Asia
Get personalized advice directly from a Licensed Naturopathic Doctor If you need advanced information about your specific health situation, we can arrange for a consultation with Dr Kumar. Dr Kumar has extensive experience in helping patients achieve better health. If you have a quick ques…
Categories: Doctors 
Gender: Man
03.07.2016 · From drkumar
RAMESH THAKUR