Awards

Nobel prize

Professor Chandrasekhar was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1983 for his studies on the physical processes important to the structure and evolution of stars. Chandrasekhar accepted this honor, but was upset the citation mentioned only his earliest work, seeing it as a denigration of a lifetime's achievement. He shared it with William A. Fowler.

 

Other awards

An exhibition on life and works of Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar was held at Science City, Kolkata, on January, 2011.

Elected a Fellow of the Royal Society (FRS) in 1944

Henry Norris Russell Lectureship (1949)

Bruce Medal (1952)

Gold Medal of the Royal Astronomical Society (1953)

Rumford Prize of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (1957)

National Medal of Science, USA (1966)

Padma Vibhushan (1968)

Henry Draper Medal of the National Academy of Sciences (1971)

Nobel Prize in Physics (1983)

Copley Medal of the Royal Society (1984)

Honorary Fellow of the International Academy of Science (1988)

Gordon J. Laing Award (1989)

Jansky Lectureship before the National Radio Astronomy Observatory

Humboldt Prize

Bio

Born in Lahore, British India, he is famous for his mathematical theory of black holes for which he won a Nobel Prize in 1983. The Chandrasekhar limit is named after him. His most celebrated work concerns the radiation of energy from stars, particularly white dwarf stars, which are the dying fragments of stars. R. J. Tayler in the Biographical Memoirs of the Fellows of the Royal Society of London wrote, “Chandrasekhar was a classical applied mathematician whose research was primarily applied in astronomy and whose like will probably never be seen again.

Youtube Videos
Great Indians: Professor Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar
You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

Person Live Feed
2018-08-06T00:47:34.000Z
2.46
End Date: Tuesday Sep-4-2018 17:47:34 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 2.46
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-01-24T21:38:34.000Z
.99
End Date: Sunday Sep-16-2018 14:38:34 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-03-22T19:01:26.000Z
.99
End Date: Tuesday Sep-18-2018 12:01:26 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-01-24T21:38:38.000Z
.99
End Date: Sunday Sep-16-2018 14:38:38 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-07-07T19:32:11.000Z
.99
End Date: Wednesday Sep-5-2018 12:32:11 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2012-06-07T22:34:15.000Z
7.50
End Date: Tuesday Sep-4-2018 15:34:15 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 7.50
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2012-12-20T05:22:41.000Z
7.79
End Date: Wednesday Sep-19-2018 22:22:41 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 7.79
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-09T12:36:48.000Z
.24
End Date: Tuesday Sep-4-2018 5:36:48 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .24
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-03-11T11:05:49.000Z
7.25
End Date: Tuesday Aug-28-2018 4:05:49 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 7.25
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-08-11T03:34:28.000Z
.45
End Date: Sunday Sep-9-2018 20:34:28 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .45
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-08-10T01:27:15.000Z
.61
End Date: Saturday Sep-8-2018 18:27:15 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .61
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-08-15T09:03:28.000Z
.59
End Date: Friday Sep-14-2018 2:03:28 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .59
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-03-11T11:05:46.000Z
.20
End Date: Tuesday Aug-28-2018 4:05:46 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .20
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-07-22T22:54:57.000Z
.99
End Date: Tuesday Aug-21-2018 15:54:57 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-08-23T13:24:28.000Z
0.00
End Date: Monday Sep-17-2018 6:24:28 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 0.00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-24T06:01:04.000Z
.95
End Date: Wednesday Aug-22-2018 23:01:04 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .95
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-07-02T23:26:44.000Z
0.00
End Date: Sunday Aug-26-2018 16:26:44 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 0.00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-11-17T18:00:09.000Z
.61
End Date: Thursday Sep-13-2018 11:00:09 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .61
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-07-25T20:05:29.000Z
.95
End Date: Friday Aug-24-2018 13:05:29 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .95
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2014-07-07T19:57:29.000Z
.93
End Date: Friday Sep-14-2018 12:57:29 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .93
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-19T19:15:16.000Z
9.99
End Date: Monday Sep-17-2018 12:15:16 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 9.99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-08-17T08:32:46.000Z
.67
End Date: Sunday Sep-16-2018 1:32:46 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .67
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-05-08T21:18:34.000Z
9.99
End Date: Wednesday Sep-5-2018 14:18:34 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 9.99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-05-30T23:10:52.000Z
.39
End Date: Thursday Aug-23-2018 16:10:52 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .39
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-19T19:07:09.000Z
9.99
End Date: Monday Sep-17-2018 12:07:09 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 9.99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-19T18:00:41.000Z
9.99
End Date: Monday Sep-17-2018 11:00:41 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 9.99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-02-20T05:56:23.000Z
9.95
End Date: Monday Sep-17-2018 22:56:23 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 9.95
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-08-04T02:34:09.000Z
.00
End Date: Sunday Sep-2-2018 19:34:09 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-19T18:02:10.000Z
9.99
End Date: Monday Sep-17-2018 11:02:10 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 9.99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-19T19:12:23.000Z
9.99
End Date: Monday Sep-17-2018 12:12:23 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 9.99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-19T19:13:29.000Z
9.99
End Date: Monday Sep-17-2018 12:13:29 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 9.99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-05-28T17:22:36.000Z
9.99
End Date: Sunday Aug-26-2018 10:22:36 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 9.99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-02-20T05:58:38.000Z
9.95
End Date: Monday Sep-17-2018 22:58:38 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 9.95
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-08-07T06:54:56.000Z
.60
End Date: Wednesday Sep-5-2018 23:54:56 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .60
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-19T18:03:46.000Z
9.99
End Date: Monday Sep-17-2018 11:03:46 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 9.99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-21T00:07:43.000Z
.99
End Date: Monday Sep-17-2018 17:07:43 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-01-24T21:56:56.000Z
4.28
End Date: Wednesday Aug-22-2018 14:56:56 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 4.28
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-01-24T21:57:17.000Z
2.57
End Date: Wednesday Aug-22-2018 14:57:17 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 2.57
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-07-29T18:46:04.000Z
.47
End Date: Tuesday Aug-28-2018 11:46:04 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .47
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-17T17:12:08.000Z
0.18
End Date: Saturday Sep-15-2018 10:12:08 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 0.18
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-01-02T22:50:07.000Z
.76
End Date: Thursday Aug-30-2018 15:50:07 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .76
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2015-10-28T02:56:42.000Z
.55
End Date: Tuesday Sep-11-2018 19:56:42 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .55
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-08-02T17:27:41.000Z
.95
End Date: Saturday Sep-1-2018 10:27:41 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .95
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-06-08T14:13:09.000Z
.99
End Date: Monday Aug-27-2018 7:13:09 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-19T11:23:08.000Z
6.44
End Date: Monday Sep-17-2018 4:23:08 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 6.44
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-08-01T19:25:30.000Z
.00
End Date: Friday Aug-31-2018 12:25:30 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-03-21T19:18:20.000Z
8.84
End Date: Wednesday Sep-12-2018 12:18:20 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 8.84
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-02-22T07:12:53.000Z
.00
End Date: Thursday Sep-20-2018 0:12:53 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-06-02T10:14:57.000Z
.55
End Date: Sunday Aug-26-2018 3:14:57 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .55
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-03-25T12:50:29.000Z
.98
End Date: Wednesday Aug-22-2018 5:50:29 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .98
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T14:04:27.000Z
.75
End Date: Monday Sep-10-2018 7:04:27 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .75
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-06-16T17:03:40.000Z
.80
End Date: Sunday Sep-9-2018 10:03:40 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .80
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-08-14T21:06:12.000Z
.00
End Date: Thursday Sep-13-2018 14:06:12 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-08-17T10:41:43.000Z
.23
End Date: Sunday Sep-16-2018 3:41:43 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .23
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-11-06T01:54:34.000Z
.97
End Date: Saturday Sep-1-2018 18:54:34 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .97
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-07-28T23:38:21.000Z
.80
End Date: Monday Aug-27-2018 16:38:21 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .80
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-10-10T20:08:44.000Z
.75
End Date: Friday Aug-31-2018 13:08:44 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .75
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-08-03T07:30:32.000Z
.99
End Date: Sunday Sep-2-2018 0:30:32 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-08-08T12:43:42.000Z
.99
End Date: Friday Sep-7-2018 5:43:42 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-07-30T09:32:01.000Z
.77
End Date: Wednesday Aug-29-2018 2:32:01 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .77
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-14T20:25:56.000Z
.99
End Date: Tuesday Sep-11-2018 13:25:56 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-08-01T18:35:46.000Z
.00
End Date: Friday Aug-31-2018 11:35:46 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-08-16T19:40:34.000Z
.00
End Date: Saturday Sep-15-2018 12:40:34 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-19T20:48:06.000Z
.99
End Date: Sunday Sep-16-2018 13:48:06 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-08-17T05:28:59.000Z
.99 (0 Bids)
End Date: Thursday Aug-23-2018 22:28:59 PDT
Bid now | Add to watch list
2015-11-11T18:37:56.000Z
1.40
End Date: Monday Aug-27-2018 11:37:56 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 1.40
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-01-16T15:48:39.000Z
.95
End Date: Saturday Sep-8-2018 8:48:39 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .95
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-14T20:24:38.000Z
.99
End Date: Tuesday Sep-11-2018 13:24:38 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T14:05:11.000Z
.98
End Date: Monday Sep-10-2018 7:05:11 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .98
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-11-16T00:40:10.000Z
.98
End Date: Thursday Sep-6-2018 17:40:10 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .98
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-02-16T17:45:09.000Z
.00
End Date: Friday Sep-14-2018 10:45:09 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-09-13T03:06:16.000Z
0.37
End Date: Sunday Sep-2-2018 20:06:16 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 0.37
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-10T03:18:55.000Z
.95
End Date: Friday Sep-7-2018 20:18:55 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .95
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-08-19T23:26:55.000Z
.89
End Date: Tuesday Sep-18-2018 16:26:55 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .89
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-08-02T13:29:42.000Z
.99
End Date: Saturday Sep-1-2018 6:29:42 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-10-25T13:08:15.000Z
.22
End Date: Thursday Sep-20-2018 6:08:15 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .22
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-22T03:53:20.000Z
.00
End Date: Tuesday Sep-18-2018 20:53:20 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-04T08:45:31.000Z
5.58
End Date: Saturday Sep-1-2018 1:45:31 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 5.58
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-08-10T22:30:19.000Z
1.95
End Date: Sunday Sep-9-2018 15:30:19 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 1.95
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-01-16T15:46:55.000Z
9.99
End Date: Saturday Sep-8-2018 8:46:55 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 9.99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-05-02T07:01:20.000Z
.42
End Date: Thursday Aug-30-2018 0:01:20 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .42
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-01-24T21:53:33.000Z
.51
End Date: Wednesday Aug-22-2018 14:53:33 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .51
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-08-11T03:25:28.000Z
.15
End Date: Sunday Sep-9-2018 20:25:28 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .15
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2015-09-16T05:48:25.000Z
.00
End Date: Thursday Aug-30-2018 22:48:25 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-07-21T16:21:32.000Z
.48
End Date: Wednesday Sep-19-2018 9:21:32 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .48
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2014-09-22T01:48:17.000Z
5.00
End Date: Friday Aug-31-2018 18:48:17 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 5.00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-05-03T20:47:23.000Z
.53
End Date: Friday Aug-31-2018 13:47:23 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .53
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-08-19T10:30:38.000Z
.65
End Date: Tuesday Sep-18-2018 3:30:38 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .65
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-11-28T19:49:01.000Z
5.94
End Date: Saturday Aug-25-2018 12:49:01 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 5.94
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-08-10T02:05:04.000Z
9.36
End Date: Saturday Sep-8-2018 19:05:04 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 9.36
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-08-01T19:25:41.000Z
.00
End Date: Friday Aug-31-2018 12:25:41 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-02-25T05:38:29.000Z
.98
End Date: Monday Sep-17-2018 22:38:29 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .98
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-09-07T15:53:25.000Z
.10
End Date: Tuesday Aug-28-2018 8:53:25 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .10
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2012-06-07T14:32:34.000Z
.95
End Date: Tuesday Sep-4-2018 7:32:34 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .95
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2012-06-07T23:32:58.000Z
.29
End Date: Tuesday Sep-4-2018 16:32:58 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .29
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-03-04T01:45:42.000Z
.12
End Date: Saturday Aug-25-2018 18:45:42 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .12
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-10T18:35:55.000Z
.99
End Date: Saturday Sep-8-2018 11:35:55 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-10-16T00:48:28.000Z
.99
End Date: Monday Sep-10-2018 17:48:28 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-06-02T03:52:52.000Z
.18
End Date: Saturday Aug-25-2018 20:52:52 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .18
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-08-01T11:03:08.000Z
.21
End Date: Friday Aug-31-2018 4:03:08 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .21
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
Comments
Order by: 
Per page:
 
  • There are no comments yet
Photos
Rate
0 votes
Info
Archana
Noida, India
30.01.2016 (30.01.2016)
388
Fans
Opps. Its empty!!
Statistics
Date of BirthOct 19, 1910
EthnicityIndian
Is this Person Alive?No
More People from this City
Shradha Sharma is a distinguished celeb and a renowned personality in the field of dance and is also a good actress, who has announced her arrival with a show of exceptional skills and dazzling performances at various occasions. One of the most admired traits of Shradha is her positive attitude towa…
Categories: Celebrities Entrepeneurs Artists 
Gender: Woman
15.02.2018 · From admin
Cameraman and Editor at TV Asia Worked at Ahmedabad, India Studied at Gujarat University Went to Gujarat University Lives in Edison, New Jersey Married From Ahmedabad, India M…
Categories: Journalists 
Gender: Man
29.12.2017 · From admin
Categories: Religious 
Gender: Man
21.09.2017 · From Anil
Kumar Vishwas is a Hindi-language performance poet and an Indian politician and National Executive of Aam Aadmi Party. Vishwas has participated in poetry recitations and functions abroad including the USA, Dubai, Singapore, and Japan.
Gender: Man
09.07.2017 · From silverleafmc
Varsha Joshi is a versatile and natural stage artist with the sangeet bhushan from Bhargava sangeet vidyalaya Vile parle- Mumbai and based here in the US from 2003 with her husband and two daughters Nishtha and Tweesha , who are also budding talents in the music field of singing. Varsha Joshi alias…
Categories: Musicians Entrepeneurs Artists 
Gender: Woman
17.04.2017 · From joshmusical
Genelia D'Souza (born 5 August 1987) is an Indian film actress and model. She has appeared in South Indian cinema and Bollywood films. After gaining wide attention in a Parker Pen commercial with Amitabh Bachchan, Genelia began her acting career with the box-office hit Tujhe Meri Kasam in 2003. She …
Categories: Celebrities Artists 
Gender: Woman
31.03.2017 · From indiafairnj
Ashok Chakradhar is a Hindi poet, writer and a media personality. He has been a professor and head of the department of Hindi at Jamia Millia Islamia (Central University). After serving for 29 years, he took voluntary retirement to focus on working towards the propagation and development of the Hind…
Categories: Celebrities 
Gender: Man
26.03.2017 · From dushahra
Balkrishna made his debut on the annual Forbes list of India’s 100 richest people at the 48th position Yoga guru Ramdev and aide Balkrishna came a long way since 1995, when they started Patanjali with only Rs 3500 in pocket They have stormed into India’s richest 100 club with a $2.5 billion net wo…
Gender: Man
23.09.2016 · From admin
Arif Afzal Usmani is CEO of AsiaTribune TV and chief editor of AsiaTribune Weekly newspaper.  
Gender: Man
31.07.2016 · From Asia
Get personalized advice directly from a Licensed Naturopathic Doctor If you need advanced information about your specific health situation, we can arrange for a consultation with Dr Kumar. Dr Kumar has extensive experience in helping patients achieve better health. If you have a quick ques…
Categories: Doctors 
Gender: Man
03.07.2016 · From drkumar
S. Chandrasekhar