Bio

SomaRay-Ellis, 44, was the lead counsel for Air India, rep- resenting the airline at the public inquiry into the June 23, 1985 bombing of Flight 182, Kanishka. As the only woman lead counsel at the national inquiry, she says she saw it “as an incredible opportunity to understand the connection between law, politics, the media and international relations. It involved the relationship between public law, aviation law, con- tract law, human rights law, personal injury law and the interrelationship was quite complicated because it was played out in such a public way.”

She is co-chair of the employment group at Himelfarb Proszanski LLP, a premiere downtown Toronto law firm. Her Air India experience makes her one of the few Canadian lawyers with knowledge of the legal and geopolitical issues involving terrorism.  “Terrorism is not about national borders as it can strike anyone anywhere,” she says, pointing out the November 2008 attack on Mumbai by Pakistani terrorists. “To stop terrorism at its roots, we all have to play a role. Being wealthy or educated will not protect anyone from terrorism. It is the new form of warfare,” she says. Despite being a lawyer dealing with cold facts, the way the 329 Air India victims’ families’ plight has moved her. “I have a great deal of respect and awe for the family members who have lobbied for over two decades so that the whole picture could be revealed,” she says. She says she is aware of the enormity of the task before the Inquiry Commissioner John Major and the Commission. “The commission has worked tirelessly to piece together the whole story from every possible angle which is reflected in the voluminous materials presented at the inquiry,” she says.

The Air India tragedy, Canadians learnt during the inquiry, could have been averted. The bomb-laden suitcase was put on the flight despite no passenger boarding with that piece of luggage checked-in a clear violation of international airline safety rules. Other than her work with the Air India inquiry, Ray-Ellis is a prominent employment lawyer. She’s the author of  Halsbury’s Laws of Canada, and the volume on  Discrimination and Human Rights (April 2008) — which took her two years to write — now as the Bible on human rights law. She was widely quot- ed in the national media on recent changes to Ontario’s Human Rights Code. As an expert in employment and human rights, she has been involved in numerous cases of wrongful dismissal, human rights, pay equity, occupational health and safety, workers compensation, and employment standards.  Her profile extends beyond Canada’s borders. She was recently invited by the Vienna, Austria-based Center for International Legal Studies to speak in Johannesburg, South Africa, at an international conference of lawyers. This was fol- lowed by an invitation from the American Bar Association to speak on human rights law in Rome, Italy.

Honors and awards keep coming her way. Last year, she was awarded Lawyer of the Year (Female) by the South Asian Bar Association of Toronto at its inaugural awards ceremony; in 2004, the Women Entrepreneurs of Canada conferred her the Champion Award for Business Leadership in celebration of Women Entrepreneurs Day. She is also the winner of sever- al academic awards including the Osgoode Hall Prize in Municipal Law and was the first South Asian woman lawyer to hold a clerkship at Ontario’s Superior Court of Justice with former Chief Justice Roy McMurtry. Ray-Ellis believes that her experience at the Air India inquiry has made her “a far better lawyer today.”

Person Live Feed
2018-07-16T17:26:35.000Z
.99 (0 Bids)
End Date: Monday Jul-23-2018 10:26:35 PDT
Bid now | Add to watch list
2018-02-04T21:22:32.000Z
.99
End Date: Friday Aug-3-2018 14:22:32 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-07-07T04:30:38.000Z
3.44
End Date: Sunday Aug-5-2018 21:30:38 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 3.44
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-07-10T00:24:56.000Z
.97
End Date: Wednesday Aug-8-2018 17:24:56 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .97
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-02-21T08:51:21.000Z
.98
End Date: Saturday Jul-21-2018 1:51:21 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .98
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-30T23:05:20.000Z
.00
End Date: Monday Jul-30-2018 16:05:20 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-02-10T02:27:54.000Z
.66
End Date: Wednesday Aug-8-2018 19:27:54 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .66
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-07-18T11:08:51.000Z
5.50
End Date: Saturday Jul-28-2018 4:08:51 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 5.50
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-11-18T02:21:02.000Z
.13
End Date: Thursday Aug-9-2018 19:21:02 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .13
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-15T03:56:50.000Z
5.00
End Date: Monday Aug-13-2018 20:56:50 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 5.00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-26T11:51:18.000Z
.99
End Date: Thursday Jul-26-2018 4:51:18 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-07-10T22:59:42.000Z
5.00
End Date: Thursday Aug-9-2018 15:59:42 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 5.00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-07-10T00:28:48.000Z
.97
End Date: Wednesday Aug-8-2018 17:28:48 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .97
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-07-18T09:31:21.000Z
4.50
End Date: Saturday Jul-28-2018 2:31:21 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 4.50
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-07-10T22:54:18.000Z
5.00
End Date: Thursday Aug-9-2018 15:54:18 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 5.00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-26T11:47:40.000Z
.99
End Date: Thursday Jul-26-2018 4:47:40 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-26T12:08:53.000Z
.99
End Date: Thursday Jul-26-2018 5:08:53 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-26T12:14:16.000Z
.99
End Date: Thursday Jul-26-2018 5:14:16 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-02-04T04:11:44.000Z
.99
End Date: Thursday Aug-2-2018 21:11:44 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-26T11:58:21.000Z
.99
End Date: Thursday Jul-26-2018 4:58:21 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-07-11T03:51:14.000Z
5.50
End Date: Friday Jul-20-2018 20:51:14 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 5.50
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-15T04:02:08.000Z
5.00
End Date: Monday Aug-13-2018 21:02:08 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 5.00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.99

End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-26T12:07:25.000Z
.99
End Date: Thursday Jul-26-2018 5:07:25 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-26T11:45:10.000Z
.99
End Date: Thursday Jul-26-2018 4:45:10 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-20T07:05:45.000Z
.98
End Date: Friday Jul-20-2018 0:05:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .98
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-01-28T07:03:07.000Z
.99
End Date: Friday Jul-27-2018 0:03:07 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-07-17T18:54:52.000Z
.97
End Date: Thursday Aug-16-2018 11:54:52 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .97
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-28T08:59:23.000Z
.94
End Date: Saturday Jul-28-2018 1:59:23 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .94
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-02-19T05:15:11.000Z
.17
End Date: Monday Aug-6-2018 22:15:11 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .17
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-05-07T07:02:43.000Z
8.20
End Date: Sunday Aug-5-2018 0:02:43 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 8.20
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-26T00:06:55.000Z
.99
End Date: Wednesday Jul-25-2018 17:06:55 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-26T12:29:07.000Z
.99
End Date: Thursday Jul-26-2018 5:29:07 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-27T04:47:45.000Z
.99
End Date: Thursday Jul-26-2018 21:47:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-07-02T11:49:11.000Z
.99
End Date: Wednesday Aug-1-2018 4:49:11 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-05-03T19:42:20.000Z
2.90
End Date: Wednesday Aug-1-2018 12:42:20 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 2.90
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-24T21:06:15.000Z
.65
End Date: Monday Jul-23-2018 14:06:15 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .65
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-03-06T20:54:56.000Z
.99
End Date: Sunday Jul-29-2018 13:54:56 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-08-01T20:22:40.000Z
.99
End Date: Friday Jul-27-2018 13:22:40 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-12-12T06:12:30.000Z
.99
End Date: Wednesday Aug-8-2018 23:12:30 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-07-18T14:53:00.000Z
.00
End Date: Friday Aug-17-2018 7:53:00 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.20
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .20
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.60
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .60
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.20
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .20
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-05-12T18:50:01.000Z
.99
End Date: Tuesday Jul-31-2018 11:50:01 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.40
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .40
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.40
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .40
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.40
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .40
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.40
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .40
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.20
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .20
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.20
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .20
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.20
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .20
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.60
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .60
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.60
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .60
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-07-16T22:30:13.000Z
.00
End Date: Wednesday Aug-15-2018 15:30:13 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.20
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .20
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.60
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .60
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.60
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .60
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.80
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .80
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.80
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .80
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.80
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .80
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.20
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .20
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.40
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .40
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.80
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .80
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.60
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .60
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.80
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .80
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.90

End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.90
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.20
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .20
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.60
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .60
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.40
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .40
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.20
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .20
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.20
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .20
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.60
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .60
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.20
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .20
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.90

End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.90
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.20
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .20
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.80
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .80
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.20
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .20
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.80
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .80
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.80
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .80
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.80
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .80
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.80
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .80
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-07-18T14:51:56.000Z
0.00
End Date: Friday Aug-17-2018 7:51:56 PDT
Buy It Now for only: 0.00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.40
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .40
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.90

End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.90
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-07-16T14:26:34.000Z
.00
End Date: Wednesday Aug-15-2018 7:26:34 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.40
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .40
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.80
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .80
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.90

End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.90
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.90

End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.90
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.90

End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.90
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.90

End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.90
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
__date__
__desc__
.90

End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only:
__date__
__desc__
.90
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.60
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .60
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.60
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .60
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.90
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .90
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.20
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .20
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.20
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .20
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.20
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .20
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-15T12:40:45.000Z
.20
End Date: Saturday Aug-11-2018 5:40:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .20
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
Comments
Order by: 
Per page:
 
  • There are no comments yet
Photos
Rate
0 votes
Info
Archana
Noida, India
22.02.2016 (22.02.2016)
617
Fans
Opps. Its empty!!
Statistics
Date of BirthNot Specified
EthnicityIndian
Is this Person Alive?Yes
More People from this City
Shradha Sharma is a distinguished celeb and a renowned personality in the field of dance and is also a good actress, who has announced her arrival with a show of exceptional skills and dazzling performances at various occasions. One of the most admired traits of Shradha is her positive attitude towa…
Categories: Celebrities Entrepeneurs Artists 
Gender: Woman
15.02.2018 · From admin
Cameraman and Editor at TV Asia Worked at Ahmedabad, India Studied at Gujarat University Went to Gujarat University Lives in Edison, New Jersey Married From Ahmedabad, India M…
Categories: Journalists 
Gender: Man
29.12.2017 · From admin
Categories: Religious 
Gender: Man
21.09.2017 · From Anil
Kumar Vishwas is a Hindi-language performance poet and an Indian politician and National Executive of Aam Aadmi Party. Vishwas has participated in poetry recitations and functions abroad including the USA, Dubai, Singapore, and Japan.
Gender: Man
09.07.2017 · From silverleafmc
Varsha Joshi is a versatile and natural stage artist with the sangeet bhushan from Bhargava sangeet vidyalaya Vile parle- Mumbai and based here in the US from 2003 with her husband and two daughters Nishtha and Tweesha , who are also budding talents in the music field of singing. Varsha Joshi alias…
Categories: Musicians Entrepeneurs Artists 
Gender: Woman
17.04.2017 · From joshmusical
Genelia D'Souza (born 5 August 1987) is an Indian film actress and model. She has appeared in South Indian cinema and Bollywood films. After gaining wide attention in a Parker Pen commercial with Amitabh Bachchan, Genelia began her acting career with the box-office hit Tujhe Meri Kasam in 2003. She …
Categories: Celebrities Artists 
Gender: Woman
31.03.2017 · From indiafairnj
Ashok Chakradhar is a Hindi poet, writer and a media personality. He has been a professor and head of the department of Hindi at Jamia Millia Islamia (Central University). After serving for 29 years, he took voluntary retirement to focus on working towards the propagation and development of the Hind…
Categories: Celebrities 
Gender: Man
26.03.2017 · From dushahra
Balkrishna made his debut on the annual Forbes list of India’s 100 richest people at the 48th position Yoga guru Ramdev and aide Balkrishna came a long way since 1995, when they started Patanjali with only Rs 3500 in pocket They have stormed into India’s richest 100 club with a $2.5 billion net wo…
Gender: Man
23.09.2016 · From admin
Arif Afzal Usmani is CEO of AsiaTribune TV and chief editor of AsiaTribune Weekly newspaper.  
Gender: Man
31.07.2016 · From Asia
Get personalized advice directly from a Licensed Naturopathic Doctor If you need advanced information about your specific health situation, we can arrange for a consultation with Dr Kumar. Dr Kumar has extensive experience in helping patients achieve better health. If you have a quick ques…
Categories: Doctors 
Gender: Man
03.07.2016 · From drkumar
SOMA RAY