Awards

Achievements and Awards
The knowledge and dedication of Sam Pitroda has brought him number of awards from around the world. Some of the recognized awards given to him are the Dataquest IT Lifetime Achievement Award (2002), Skoch Challenger Lifetime Achievement Award in 2009 Rajiv Gandhi Global India award in 2009 Padma Bhushan award by Indian government in 2009. Pitroda was elected as World Prominent Leader by the World Network of Young Leaders and Entrepreneurs WNYLE in 2008.

Bio

Famous As Entrepreneur, Policy Maker and Inventor 
Born On 4 May 1942 
Born In Titlagarh, Orissa, India 
Nationality Indian

Satyanarayan Gangaram Pitroda a.k.a Sam Pitroda, the telephone maverick who revolutionized the state of telecommunications in India, is indeed a name to reckon with. Yes, it was mainly because of the efforts of this inventor, technocrat, and social thinker that telecom revolution started in India. Better feted as "The father of India's communication revolution," his contributions in the domain of telecommunications not just in India but globally, have been gargantuan. With his groundbreaking innovations and novel visions, he introduced many revolutionary ideas that changed the face of telecommunication and information technology. Along with being a pioneer in telecom, Sam Pitroda has made strong case for food, clean water, and adequate shelter for the unprivileged section. Through his efforts, he has brought telephones to the rural parts of India and some of the most isolated regions in the world. It wouldn't be an exaggeration to tag Sam Pitroda as the 'telecom whiz'.

Early Life
Sam Pitroda was born on May 4, 1942 in Titlagarh, Orissa, India. His parents were originally from Gujarat, but were settled in Orissa. Inspired by the teachings of Mahatma Gandhi, his parents send him and his brother to Gujarat to learn more about the philosophy and teachings of the great political leader. Sam Pitroda completed his schooling from Vallabh Vidyanagar in Gujarat and pursued Masters in Physics and Electronics from Maharaja Sayajirao University in Vadodara. After completing his studies in India he went to US to obtain his Masters in Electrical Engineering from Illinois Institute of Technology from Chicago. 

Career
All through 1960s and 1970s, Sam Pitroda was involved in making cutting-edge inventions that were to be the new face of technology later. He is the first person to introduce microprocessor in telephone and is known for his invention of first Electronic Diary. In 1974, he founded his own company called Wescom Switching. Later Rockwell international acquired Wescom and Sam Pitroda became the Vice-President of the company. During his stay in the company, Pitroda brought about numerous changes in telecommunications industry, which eventually earned him humungous recognition as telecom maverick. With more than 100 patents in his name, Sam Pitroda became one of the leading names in telecommunications and information technology. The computer-themed card game called Compucards invented in 1983, made him even more famous in the technological world. After his return to India, he established the Centre for Developments of Telematics (C-DOT), which served as an autonomous telecom and R&D organization. In 1987, Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi appointed Pitroda as advisor in Indian foreign and domestic telecommunication policies. Pitroda is considered as the main hand behind Indian revolutionary telecom industry and On Public Call Offices (PCO) which brought affordable call rates for both local and international calls. In July 2009, he became the advisor to Prime Minister Man Mohan Singh in the field of Public Information Infrastructure and Innovations. With his global leadership, vision and knowledge, he is known as one of the noted entrepreneur and advisor that India will be always proud of.



Timeline
1942: Sam Pitroda was born.
1974: Founded a company called Wescom.
1983: Invented the popular Compucards, which created revolution in information technology.
1987: He worked under the then Indian Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi as advisor in the field of foreign and domestic telecommunication policies. 
1992: His biography, 'Sam Pitroda: A Biography' was published.
1993: Established foundation for Revitalization of Local Health Tradition (FRLHT) near Bangalore, India
2009: Became the advisor to Prime Minister Man Mohan Singh in Public Information, Infrastructure and Innovations.

Youtube Videos
Sam Pitroda Interview
You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

Person Live Feed
2018-06-08T20:06:36.000Z
.95
End Date: Sunday Jul-8-2018 13:06:36 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .95
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-12T12:58:46.000Z
.16
End Date: Wednesday Jul-11-2018 5:58:46 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .16
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-05-31T08:23:22.000Z
.99
End Date: Friday Jul-20-2018 1:23:22 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-21T08:43:32.000Z
.58
End Date: Friday Jul-20-2018 1:43:32 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .58
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-06T14:35:05.000Z
.00
End Date: Friday Jul-6-2018 7:35:05 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-06-13T13:46:40.000Z
.95
End Date: Friday Jul-13-2018 6:46:40 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .95
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-06-18T05:23:34.000Z
.90
End Date: Saturday Jul-7-2018 22:23:34 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .90
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-02-22T08:30:40.000Z
.96
End Date: Wednesday Jul-11-2018 1:30:40 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .96
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-27T09:19:35.000Z
.57
End Date: Tuesday Jun-26-2018 2:19:35 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .57
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-04-24T13:57:04.000Z
.75
End Date: Saturday Jun-23-2018 6:57:04 PDT
Buy It Now for only: .75
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
Comments
Order by: 
Per page:
 
  • There are no comments yet
Photos
Rate
0 votes
Info
Archana
Noida, India
30.01.2016 (30.01.2016)
306
Fans
Opps. Its empty!!
Statistics
Date of BirthMay 04, 1942
EthnicityIndian
Is this Person Alive?Yes
More People from this City
Shradha Sharma is a distinguished celeb and a renowned personality in the field of dance and is also a good actress, who has announced her arrival with a show of exceptional skills and dazzling performances at various occasions. One of the most admired traits of Shradha is her positive attitude towa…
Categories: Celebrities Entrepeneurs Artists 
Gender: Woman
15.02.2018 · From admin
Cameraman and Editor at TV Asia Worked at Ahmedabad, India Studied at Gujarat University Went to Gujarat University Lives in Edison, New Jersey Married From Ahmedabad, India M…
Categories: Journalists 
Gender: Man
29.12.2017 · From admin
Categories: Religious 
Gender: Man
21.09.2017 · From Anil
Kumar Vishwas is a Hindi-language performance poet and an Indian politician and National Executive of Aam Aadmi Party. Vishwas has participated in poetry recitations and functions abroad including the USA, Dubai, Singapore, and Japan.
Gender: Man
09.07.2017 · From silverleafmc
Varsha Joshi is a versatile and natural stage artist with the sangeet bhushan from Bhargava sangeet vidyalaya Vile parle- Mumbai and based here in the US from 2003 with her husband and two daughters Nishtha and Tweesha , who are also budding talents in the music field of singing. Varsha Joshi alias…
Categories: Musicians Entrepeneurs Artists 
Gender: Woman
17.04.2017 · From joshmusical
Genelia D'Souza (born 5 August 1987) is an Indian film actress and model. She has appeared in South Indian cinema and Bollywood films. After gaining wide attention in a Parker Pen commercial with Amitabh Bachchan, Genelia began her acting career with the box-office hit Tujhe Meri Kasam in 2003. She …
Categories: Celebrities Artists 
Gender: Woman
31.03.2017 · From indiafairnj
Ashok Chakradhar is a Hindi poet, writer and a media personality. He has been a professor and head of the department of Hindi at Jamia Millia Islamia (Central University). After serving for 29 years, he took voluntary retirement to focus on working towards the propagation and development of the Hind…
Categories: Celebrities 
Gender: Man
26.03.2017 · From dushahra
Balkrishna made his debut on the annual Forbes list of India’s 100 richest people at the 48th position Yoga guru Ramdev and aide Balkrishna came a long way since 1995, when they started Patanjali with only Rs 3500 in pocket They have stormed into India’s richest 100 club with a $2.5 billion net wo…
Gender: Man
23.09.2016 · From admin
Arif Afzal Usmani is CEO of AsiaTribune TV and chief editor of AsiaTribune Weekly newspaper.  
Gender: Man
31.07.2016 · From Asia
Get personalized advice directly from a Licensed Naturopathic Doctor If you need advanced information about your specific health situation, we can arrange for a consultation with Dr Kumar. Dr Kumar has extensive experience in helping patients achieve better health. If you have a quick ques…
Categories: Doctors 
Gender: Man
03.07.2016 · From drkumar
Sam Pitroda