Home Advertise Members Listings Classifieds Coupons Events Schools Photos People More
Yash Ghai
Bio

Yash Pal Ghai (born 20 October 1938) is a Kenyan academic in constitutional law. As of 2007 he is the head of the Constitution Advisory Support Unit of the United Nations Development Programme in Nepal. Until 2008, he was a Special Representative of the UN Secretary General in Cambodia on human rights. In September 2008, he resigned his post, following bitter arguments with the Government of Cambodia. He has been a Fellow of the British Academy since 2005.

Early life and education

His grandparents were Khukhrain who came from North India, and were part of the waves of migration sponsored by the British Empire. His father sent Ghai to Oxford to study.

Career

He was the Sir YK Pao Professor of Public Law at the University of Hong Kong starting in 1989. He has been an Honorary Professor there since his retirement in 2005. Prior to that, Ghai taught and did research in law at the University of Warwick, Uppsala University in Sweden, the International Legal Center in New York, and Yale Law School. He has also taught courses at the University of Wisconsin Law School, as part of an exchange program. He was the Chairman of the Constitution of Kenya Review Commission (which attempted to write a modern constitution for Kenya) from 2000 to 2004. Professor Ghai is also recently selected by the Fijian Military Government to be the Chairperson of Fiji's Constitutional Committee.

 

Ghai has also advised and assisted NGOs on human rights law-related work. He drafted the Asian Human Rights Charter—A People's Charter, a project of the Asian Human Rights Commission.

Ghai has written several books on law in Africa, the Pacific islands, and elsewhere.

Youtube Videos
You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

Person Live Feed
2016-01-01T19:45:30.000Z
9.49
End Date: Saturday Jan-20-2018 11:45:30 PST
Buy It Now for only: 9.49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-06-02T03:51:26.000Z
.79
End Date: Saturday Jan-27-2018 19:51:26 PST
Buy It Now for only: .79
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2015-11-14T06:28:38.000Z
5.42
End Date: Wednesday Jan-31-2018 22:28:38 PST
Buy It Now for only: 5.42
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2012-01-04T17:32:44.000Z
.33
End Date: Thursday Feb-1-2018 9:32:44 PST
Buy It Now for only: .33
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-04-02T12:22:16.000Z
.00
End Date: Monday Jan-22-2018 4:22:16 PST
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-07T18:43:26.000Z
.55
End Date: Sunday Feb-4-2018 10:43:26 PST
Buy It Now for only: .55
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2014-01-19T23:46:32.000Z
.35
End Date: Sunday Jan-28-2018 15:46:32 PST
Buy It Now for only: .35
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-11-24T03:05:06.000Z
9.95
End Date: Friday Feb-16-2018 19:05:06 PST
Buy It Now for only: 9.95
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-11T08:45:31.000Z
4.00
End Date: Thursday Feb-8-2018 0:45:31 PST
Buy It Now for only: 4.00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2013-06-05T06:29:56.000Z
8.79
End Date: Thursday Feb-8-2018 22:29:56 PST
Buy It Now for only: 8.79
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-01-20T01:29:24.000Z
7.60
End Date: Tuesday Feb-13-2018 17:29:24 PST
Buy It Now for only: 7.60
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-06-02T07:20:08.000Z
.05
End Date: Saturday Jan-27-2018 23:20:08 PST
Buy It Now for only: .05
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2014-05-30T23:52:39.000Z
.18
End Date: Thursday Feb-8-2018 15:52:39 PST
Buy It Now for only: .18
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-09-10T01:37:06.000Z
.88
End Date: Thursday Feb-1-2018 17:37:06 PST
Buy It Now for only: .88
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2014-02-22T10:06:43.000Z
.30
End Date: Thursday Feb-1-2018 2:06:43 PST
Buy It Now for only: .30
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-01-03T07:56:17.000Z
.81
End Date: Thursday Feb-1-2018 23:56:17 PST
Buy It Now for only: .81
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-07-30T12:26:06.000Z
.99
End Date: Sunday Jan-21-2018 4:26:06 PST
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-07-30T12:26:06.000Z
.99
End Date: Sunday Jan-21-2018 4:26:06 PST
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-05-31T05:00:24.000Z
.99
End Date: Saturday Jan-20-2018 21:00:24 PST
Buy It Now for only: .99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-05-31T06:06:58.000Z
.01
End Date: Saturday Jan-20-2018 22:06:58 PST
Buy It Now for only: .01
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-02-17T03:04:06.000Z
.21
End Date: Monday Feb-5-2018 19:04:06 PST
Buy It Now for only: .21
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-03-19T18:41:39.000Z
7.69
End Date: Wednesday Feb-7-2018 10:41:39 PST
Buy It Now for only: 7.69
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-03-28T17:18:44.000Z
.04
End Date: Friday Feb-16-2018 9:18:44 PST
Buy It Now for only: .04
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2015-06-04T20:24:51.000Z
.00
End Date: Sunday Feb-18-2018 12:24:51 PST
Buy It Now for only: .00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-07-15T22:13:40.000Z
3.00
End Date: Saturday Feb-10-2018 2:13:07 PST
Buy It Now for only: 3.00
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-01-05T02:24:02.000Z
.95
End Date: Saturday Feb-3-2018 18:24:02 PST
Buy It Now for only: .95
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2018-01-18T03:17:09.000Z
.49
End Date: Friday Feb-16-2018 19:17:09 PST
Buy It Now for only: .49
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
Comments
Order by: 
Per page:
 
  • There are no comments yet
Photos
Rate
0 votes
Info
Archana
Noida, India
23.02.2016 (23.02.2016)
620
Fans
Opps. Its empty!!
Statistics
Date of BirthNot Specified
EthnicityIndian
Is this Person Alive?Yes
More People from this City
Cameraman and Editor at TV Asia Worked at Ahmedabad, India Studied at Gujarat University Went to Gujarat University Lives in Edison, New Jersey Married From Ahmedabad, India M…
Categories: Journalists 
Gender: Man
29.12.2017 · From admin
Categories: Religious 
Gender: Man
21.09.2017 · From Anil
Kumar Vishwas is a Hindi-language performance poet and an Indian politician and National Executive of Aam Aadmi Party. Vishwas has participated in poetry recitations and functions abroad including the USA, Dubai, Singapore, and Japan.
Gender: Man
09.07.2017 · From silverleafmc
Varsha Joshi is a versatile and natural stage artist with the sangeet bhushan from Bhargava sangeet vidyalaya Vile parle- Mumbai and based here in the US from 2003 with her husband and two daughters Nishtha and Tweesha , who are also budding talents in the music field of singing. Varsha Joshi alias…
Categories: Musicians Entrepeneurs Artists 
Gender: Woman
17.04.2017 · From joshmusical
Genelia D'Souza (born 5 August 1987) is an Indian film actress and model. She has appeared in South Indian cinema and Bollywood films. After gaining wide attention in a Parker Pen commercial with Amitabh Bachchan, Genelia began her acting career with the box-office hit Tujhe Meri Kasam in 2003. She …
Categories: Celebrities Artists 
Gender: Woman
31.03.2017 · From indiafairnj
Ashok Chakradhar is a Hindi poet, writer and a media personality. He has been a professor and head of the department of Hindi at Jamia Millia Islamia (Central University). After serving for 29 years, he took voluntary retirement to focus on working towards the propagation and development of the Hind…
Categories: Celebrities 
Gender: Man
26.03.2017 · From dushahra
Balkrishna made his debut on the annual Forbes list of India’s 100 richest people at the 48th position Yoga guru Ramdev and aide Balkrishna came a long way since 1995, when they started Patanjali with only Rs 3500 in pocket They have stormed into India’s richest 100 club with a $2.5 billion net wo…
Gender: Man
23.09.2016 · From admin
Arif Afzal Usmani is CEO of AsiaTribune TV and chief editor of AsiaTribune Weekly newspaper.  
Gender: Man
31.07.2016 · From Asia
Get personalized advice directly from a Licensed Naturopathic Doctor If you need advanced information about your specific health situation, we can arrange for a consultation with Dr Kumar. Dr Kumar has extensive experience in helping patients achieve better health. If you have a quick ques…
Categories: Doctors 
Gender: Man
03.07.2016 · From drkumar
Neeta Gandhi is a vocal Radio Artist, living in New Jersey
Categories: Artists 
Gender: Woman
02.07.2016 · From neeta_gandhi